Tub on the Run

Tub’s First Post

11 Comments

Hi there!

Firstly, please bear with me – I am trying to get my head around all of this blogging stuff, and am working on my page currently.  Thanks!

Why am I blogging?  Accountability really.  I am already a member of Slimming World, and the weekly weigh ins make me accountable for my weight.  I am, in part, accountable for my exercise in so far as I go with a friend and have activity dates, but I want to start running again.  I also want to be successful at it.  I don’t want to start running with someone (maybe other than M) as it’ll only dishearten me (I can be intensely competitive and a sore loser).

How am I going to throw my weighty bulk into running?  Slowly!  And using Couch to 5k.  I’ll be starting in February.  (the first week of, not the end of).  A couple more good weight loss weeks and I’ll feel better about my poor old knees having to absorb the shock of weight bearing activity!

I need to break the food/reward cycle, so will be having a think about non-food rewards for my weight loss milestones and running treats.  All suggestions welcome!

Thanks for reading!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

11 thoughts on “Tub’s First Post

  1. Hi there! Thanks for visiting my blog. I look forward to reading about your journey to fitness. I totally know what you mean about the vicious food/reward cycle. That is a battle for me as well. A couple things I’ve liked as rewards are a movie outing, workout music downloads, and a new exercise accessory (water bottle, headband, etc.). Good luck with everything!

  2. Hello. And welcome to blog world. In the event of an emergency, you will find a keyboard in front of you with which you can share your problems will all and sundry. Support can be found, if needed, in the comments box under your blog.. Please enjoy reading other blogs as well as writing your own but remember, “reading a blog about exercise is not a replacement for activity”.
    We hope you enjoy your time in BlogLand (ir world of whatever I called it just now), some turbulence along the way should be expected and the duration of the journey is unknown, so feel free to make your self comfortable, make new friends, make progress and really just generally enjoy your journey.
    NMOAR

  3. All the best on your journey, will eagerly be following your progress!

  4. Found you thru a comment you left on another site, came here to investigate & to support your energy toward change! I am much older than you, but definitely have “food issues” (slight weight problem initially, which I’m happy to say has gotten better & better over the past 3 years), & I too started with Couch-to-5K. You can do this, all of it. Blogging has helped me a lot, I think. Even if you think no one is reading, the writing is beneficial, I find. The journey, as well as the outcome, can be a wonderful thing. I will try to look in from time to time, to read of your great progress 🙂 Meanwhile, best wishes for a great 2013!

  5. Pingback: Profound wisdom and a 30 minute run | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

