Tub on the Run

We have lift off!

4 Comments

Tub – “Let’s go out tonight.”

Inner Tub – “Naaaahhh… It’s too cold, unless we’re going to the pub of course.”

Tub – “Well, no, I wasn’t thinking of the pub, I was thinking about going out for our first C25K run.”

Inner Tub (stares, wide-eyed and completely confused) – “You?  Run?  Pfft, yeah, you gotta be kidding.  We’re only reading blogs and magazines for fun y’know, there’s no hidden agenda to it.”

Tub – “No, seriously!  How are we going to keep going on with the losses each week if we don’t do some exercise.  I thought we could go out straight from when we get home”.

Inner Tub – “No way!  It’s cold.  I mean, it’s like FOUR DEGREES CELSIUS outside.  And straight after work?!  No, nah-ah, no.  We won’t even have eaten by then.  How can you expect us to run on empty?!” (strop strop strop)

Tub – “It’s hardly empty is it!  And it’s only half an hour.  We could be back by 7.  We’re even going to leave work on time to help the cause, plus the stew is already cooked – I cooked it last night.  So we can come back and fall face first into the stew”.

Inner Tub – “You put wine in the stew.  And we like leaving on time.  Yeah, stew.  Stew could be good.  Mmm…  Stew.”

 

So it didn’t quite happen like that.  What actually happened was, we did leave work on time (for the first time in about 3 weeks), and made it through the door and home to the hard-done-by cats.  After sorting them out (and trying to keep the big fat one from eating the little skinny one’s food), M and I cooked our tea after he reminded me that he was going out this evening to play skittles.  Anyway, the meal was not stew, but chicken with couscous and a homemade ragu (Syn free too – all of it!).  M headed off, and Inner Tub started chirping up again about how it was a stupid idea to go out and blah blah blah.  Quietening the silly Tub, I started searching the flat to find a suitable coat, my sports bra, my earphones, and my old Garmin.  If I was about 7 stone lighter, I totally looked the part!  With a reasonable route in mind, I headed out…

 

Slightly wobbly, but just an idea of how wet and windy it is!

Slightly wobbly, but just an idea of how wet and windy it is!

… Into the torrential rain.  It was absolutely horrendous!  Horizontal rain, wind, and a shocking wind chill factor – needless to say, I was the only pedestrian/jogger type person out and about.  I believe part of the reason I didn’t find the whole thing too horrendous was probably because after five minutes, I couldn’t actually feel my extremities.  That was probably a good thing.  So I started out on my “warm up” (warm is probably too strong a word), and got soaked by a speeding car driving through a puddle.  Good start.  Then it was to the first run.  Remembering the information from Run Fat B!tch Run, I started at a reasonable pace, then slowed it down so as not to peak on the first 60 seconds as I have done before.  Through the driving rain, I kept an ok pace.  Then there was the mandatory horde of idiots being transported around in a cheap and nastily modified boy racer-mobile.  Honestly, why you would slow down to poke fun at a fat person running when you clearly have no sense of taste or decency, as clearly exhibited by your wreck of a car (which is most likely their pride and joy), I don’t think I’ll ever understand.  Seriously – don’t keep drawing attention to the wreckage.

Despite the ridiculous behaviour of the boys in the monstrosity, I actually felt ok.  I definitely feel like I could go out again (not right now) and improve, in fact, I feel rather buoyed by the experience.  Unfortunately my tummy wasn’t so keen on the whole experience, and made its grievance known when I got back in.  Oh well!   It’ll get used to it.  The best thing?  The hot shower when I got in!

So stats fiends, what did I do?  I was out for 31:44, “ran” 3.12km with an average pace of 10:10/km.

Inner Tub is sulking in a corner now, and I am thawing out in front of the fire.  We’ll be going out again on Sunday.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “We have lift off!

  1. Pingback: A Reminiscent Soggy Tub | Tub on the Run

  2. Pingback: When does it get easier? | Tub on the Run

  3. Pingback: A goal | Tub on the Run

  4. Pingback: Happy New Year’s Eve! Tub’s 2013 Round Up | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

