Tub on the Run

Out again – in better weather this time!

Leave a comment

So week 1 run 2 happened last night.  I clearly benefited from the freezing (/numbing) weather conditions on my first time out, as I found this run much harder.  I don’t know whether it was because I was running into the wind, or that I was too hot (two tops and a coat – I could probably have left the second top, but you live and learn).  Before I go any further though, I would like to apologise sincerely to the poor people out for a leisurely Sunday evening walk – sadly I am unable to pay for the counselling required to ease the mental trauma I may have inflicted upon you as I wheezed, puffed, wobbled and jiggled past, turning a colour that even a beetroot would be proud of.

Do I feel good?  Hmm… Yes, because I got out and made myself work again, despite Inner Tub’s protestations and the burning lungs.  I had been pretty miffed to find out water company digging up the road to fix a leak, which had resulted in the water being turned off.  Inner Tub was strongly of the opinion that we couldn’t possibly exercise if there was no hope of a shower at the end.  Much to Inner Tub’s chagrin, the water was turned back on within half an hour.  Now, what did feel good was the bath that I soaked in when I got in.  Complete with a bathbomb from my Christmas gifts.  That was my treat. So yes, despite being a little achey, I feel pretty pleased.

I even remembered to do some stretches when I got in (something I forgot and regretted on Saturday morning after the first outing on Friday).

For my inner statistician, this run was 31:55, for 3.31km with an average pace of 09:38/km. Not quite on par with our local running superstar Jo Pavey. Ah well! Maybe next time!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

Leave a Reply

