Tub on the Run

Quick question about race maps

4 Comments

I am hoping that you may be able to help me with a question – how do you find race course maps prior to the event?  The reason I ask, is that I think I am getting the running bug, and would like to run a race (I think).  I’ve run Race For Life before, and the Commando Challenge, but they weren’t “real” races (in so far as the courses were measured or had a UKAA number).  I’ve been looking at the Crediton Crunch which M and I marshalled in 2009.  It was a beast for hills apparently, but they’ve since changed the course.  I know I would stand little chance of completing the old course, but wondered if the new one would be better.

I am going to avoid making running a chore by not signing up to anything until I can run the distance required.  I’ve found in the past that I’d sign up to something at the beginning of the year with the best of intentions but unable to run the distance, then pressure myself too hard in “training” (read: starting running), get so fed up that I resented the whole thing.  Needless to say, it is highly unlikely that I will be entering anything like a 10k in May.

I’m enjoying the whole process too much to marr it with unnecessary pressure right now.

M has been very sweet and offered to do the food shopping while I go out for a run this afternoon.  As we’re going to my parents’ for tea, I’m not able to go out for my normal evening run.  I’m quite apprehensive about running in the daylight at the moment (it’s illogical and irrational that I think people would point and laugh and wonder why on earth I am sullying their afternoon with my red, sweaty face).

What my irrational self thinks would happen during daylight

I have picked a quiet route on an old railway line.  I’m hoping it’s quiet anyway.  M will drop me off, do the shopping, then pick me up on the way back.

And if I am seen, I hope that someone thinks this about me, and not the above.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “Quick question about race maps

  1. I too find running at night a good strategy. People cant see the red face and I wear a baseball cap to hide. I’m dreading lighter nights later in the year. I think some daytime weekend runs might be what we need to ‘ease’ ourselves gently into public view – so to speak.

    Strange, but I can find any reference to a map for the Crediton Crunch. You’d think it would have been published. Try emailing the organisers?

    • Thanks! I’ve managed to find the old route, but not the newer one. I’ll email the organiser – didn’t think of that!

      Hmm… I’m not sure I’ll be ready for the daylight for roughly another year 🙂 But sadly, I will be forced to it more often.

  2. Hi I’ve just found your blog from the nhs C25K blog site and was browsing some of your posts. Re race maps: some events will helpfully post a map on the event page. Others, like one I’m registered for, will (cheekily) link to someone’s uploaded GPS data on WalkJogRun or MapMyRun websites. Maybe if you search you may find someone’s race data on a similar site.

    • Thanks! I haven’t heard of WalkJogRun, so I’ll see if I can get any info from there. Failing that, I might just email the organiser and see if they can point me in the right direction. Thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

