Tub on the Run

Two day exercise round up

Leave a comment

I’ll start with today.  I am not long back from my Zumba Tone class.  Following the trauma of finding some abs muscles, care of the TBTs class, my friend and I ventured back to ZT.  All is forgiven.  I was actually looking forward to it, and put a lot of effort into my workout.  I know this because my back is a little sore, and my hair is all mingy (yes, I am so dedicated, I am blogging before showering).  The other thing I wanted to “fix” while I was there was to stretch out my hips.  They were really tight after yesterday.

It hasn’t been my best day for sticking to all things healthy eating (d’oh – it is weigh in day tomorrow Tub, what were you thinking!?).  It’s a colleague’s birthday, so I have had an egg custard tart and a doughnut.  Poop.  Though I am not sure why I am justifying the food to myself with”well it’s her birthday” – she wasn’t going to be offended if I abstained.  Never mind – it’s only one day, and you can’t spend live avoiding doughnuts.  The key is moderation (I know I will be annoyed if I put weight on tomorrow, so I will probably have to revisit this post to remind me it’s all MODERATION).  However, I have found a new drink love:

Mmm… Twinings Butter Mint Tea

It’s like drinking a Murray Mint.  I have a very soft spot for Murray Mints, they remind me of my Grandad.  An enduring childhood memory was my Grandad sharing his Wethers Originals or Murray Mints with us.  Fond memories of sunny holidays to our grandparents’ house.

About my run yesterday.  If you are eating, I suggest you come back later, or if you are easily upset, give up now.

It went really well.  I felt absolutely knackered at the end, but I’m really pleased, as I managed to shave a whole minute off my average pace.  I suspect I may have overdone it.  Because then came…

I didn’t know it could come out like that, and I genuinely dread to think what I looked like in the last few metres before I got to my front door.  And good Lord I thought the bottom was falling out of my world.  Now, there’s a good chance that the increase in speed alone wasn’t the sole cause.  I had some beans for tea, in a rice salad.  I think it may have been far too much fibre prior to the run.  So, learning points – stay away from  beans (I have had a similar experience, but many years back), and eat a long time before I go out, not 45 minutes before.

Despite the horrendous experience, I was pleased with myself, and thoroughly enjoyed my Sunday night bath, and a chocolate chip Snack a Jack with some Whole Earth peanut butter spread on it.  Tasted naughty, but was 8 syns (allowed 15 a day) – a good post run snack I believe.

On that delightful note, I shall leave you now. Wish me luck (or light thoughts) for weigh in tomorrow!!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

Leave a Reply

