Tub on the Run

Today’s weigh in and the end of Week 4

3 Comments

Please forgive me, I feel a bit of a moan coming on.

Why?  I lost half a pound.  I am trying very hard to refrain from saying “only” half a pound – they all add up eventually.  Why am I disappointed?  Really, it boils down to the fact that I have been losing pretty good amounts for the last 8 weeks.  Do I have a right to be disappointed with that?  Technically yes, it’s my body.  But at the same time, no I don’t.  By looking at that loss, I trivialise my other losses by looking at each one in isolation, rather than remembering that I am 2st 4.5lbs down from my starting point.  Not only that, but it hardly comes as a shock – I haven’t been the best at keeping an eye on my syns this week, I had lots of pancakes after the last weigh in, plus the doughnut and egg custard tart yesterday.  A mediocre week will result in a mediocre loss.  Thankfully, I am sure the amount of exercise I have done this week has made sure that the half lb off wasn’t actually a gain.

On the thought of exercise, I have completed Week 4, so day off tomorrow and then spinning on Thursday.  I am feeling a bit apprehensive about going into Week 5, as the reading I have been doing around the Couch to 5k has shown that a lot of the struggles come at this week.  I just need to remember that I have made it this far, and I can’t go squandering all my work so far just because I’m apprehensive.

Sorry it’s a whingey post, it’s probably just time to go to bed.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

3 thoughts on “Today’s weigh in and the end of Week 4

  1. I was nervous about week 5 too. Its actually not as bad as weeks 1 and 2, which were exhausting. The difference is that you can run now and the body is getting used to you moving for longer periods. Its big numbers that are scary.
    Try not to think about it. Press play on the podcast and deal with each interval one at a time. Don’t think too far ahead or worry about the next run.
    The hardest step is walking out the front door. You can do it and you’ll be thrilled at what you’ve achieved when you get home.

    • I know exactly what you mean – I kind of felt a bit the same about this week – 5 minutes seemed so daunting, but I’m alive to tell the tale! I’m definitely taking your advice for plug in and just go – don’t think too much about it! Of course, I have “the Dory” to fall back on… Just keep swimmin’ 😀

Leave a Reply

