Tub on the Run

A gain has occurred

4 Comments

Weigh in tonight saw me gain by 1lb.  It’s broken my 10 week losing streak.

How do I feel about it?  Not too bad actually – surprisingly chilled out about it.  I am the first to admit that I haven’t been very good at the food thing this week – eating in excess (though not binging), eating the wrong things.  I’d also like to blame the arrival of lady week, but that would be a poor excuse.  It’s mostly down to the food.

Why have I struggled this week with the food?  I think it’s quite simply that I have taken a brief rest from the constant thought stream of food planning.  It takes quite a bit of effort to constantly remember your syn values (yeah, I know, I could write them down), and how much fruit and veg you’re getting, etc etc.  That sounds bad that I have taken “a rest” from dieting, but actually, I am trying to see it as a good thing.  There will be weeks where I won’t be able to stick steadfastly to a particular way of eating.  Importantly, I think I am seeing a change in my “natural” choices.  6 months ago, a blow out week would have seen me hit the scales with a 4lb+ gain.  One bad week in 10, with a 1lb gain – I can live with that!

I feel like I have got that week out of my system now, and I’m good to be back on track.  Even today has been good – porridge for breakfast, fruit, yogurts as my snacks, couscous and chicken with roast veg for lunch, then a veg packed chilli for tea.  Add in a curly wurly, and the world is happy again.

Here’s to my next 10 week losing streak!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “A gain has occurred

  1. I’m impressed, well done on maintaining your perspective on this one. It would be so easy to see only the negative, but I really like the way your looking at the bigger picture :-).
    Here’s to the next round of losses #cheers

    • Thanks! Yeah, I definitely need the perspective, and actually the running is kind of helping with that – it’s not all about the number of the scales, but that plus the number on the Garmin 🙂 How are your muscles today?

  2. It’s great your so positive! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

