Tub on the Run

Abandoning “Laura”

5 Comments

I made the bold decision to leave Laura behind today.  Don’t worry, Laura isn’t my child or anything – she is the lady that speaks to you on the NHS Couch to 5k podcast.  I rebelled against the system, pushed the boundaries, and took my friends – Metallica, Fleetwood Mac, 3 Doors Down, Staind and Seether out for a 25 minute run.

I may have looked a little more strange than usual, lip syncing my way through my run, and I may also have experienced a small pang of guilt at abandoning Laura.  She has smugly stood by me while I dragged myself wheezing through the early stages – encouraged me, made sure I kept going.  Don’t worry though, all is not lost Laura, you’ll be back with me on Friday for Week 8, but I can’t promise that I won’t leave you at home on run 3 next week.

It was definitely an odd feeling, running on my own (but Tub, you run on your own all the time… I know!  But my imaginary friend always comes too!).  It was almost like when I drove the car for the first time without anyone with me, just after I passed my test, and then eventually tried driving with the radio on…

Post run, I was looking forward to my pasta bake.  Unfortunately it went a bit, well, charred black.  To add insult to injury, our oven now seems to be on the blink.  The thermostat light is still on, even when I’ve turned the oven off, and the stupid thing is still alight.  I’ve resorted to switching it off at the fuse box.  I needed a dead oven like I need a hole in the head right now, but off to internet shop for electric ovens I go.  Bummer.  Meanwhile… I may have to learn how to cook things (real food) in the microwave, and find some more slow cooker recipes while I’m at it.  Oooof.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

5 thoughts on “Abandoning “Laura”

  1. For a second you had me shouting ‘Noooooo’ at my laptop, and then I carried on reading 🙂
    I’m impressed you’ve resorted to your own playlist. Look at you all grown up and running on your own :-). Well done.
    Liking the music choice even more. I’d add in a bit of Disturbed or Pantera for some chundering base. I’m also not ashamed to admit that my playlist may feature 30 Seconds to Mars – although chasing Jared Leto would also improve my 5k time 🙂

    • Mmmm… Jared Leto (but strangely, only if he’s wearing guy liner, otherwise I’m not too bothered). I do have some Disturbed on my ipod, and may, when I have the speed for it, crack out some Avenged Sevenfold. Blackstone Cherry are next on the list. I really do need to construct a proper playlist.

      I think my most “embarassing” song is probably something like Belinda Carlisle – Always breaking my heart. So 30secs to Mars doesn’t sound too bad now does it! lol!

      Hurrah! Aren’t we good 🙂

      • Aah Leto in Guyliner #sigh. I may have screamed like a girlie when I saw them live. Roll on Download.

        My playlists run from Hermes House Band, Billy Joel to Limp Bizkit and Train. Guest appearances from Megadeth, Slayer and NIN. Basically anything upbeat and good to singalong to, assuming I have the breath for it 🙂

        • Jealous of the Download!! We saw 3 Doors Down and Seether last year – Seether live were poop. I am gutted. 3DD were excellent though. Their support was a Swedish band called Tekaida (sp?) and they were also very good. Not seeing anyone this year 😦 Bad times!

  2. Pingback: November Holistic Living Tips Part 1 | Wellness Training Services

Leave a Reply

