Tub on the Run

A Challenged Tub

4 Comments

I am aching a lot after Zumba Tone last night.  My upper body is fine, but my lower body is stiff.  Pesky squats and lunges!  I thought I would suffer, as I couldn’t balance in the lunges, which is usually a sign I’m either super tired or have falling levels of fitness (muscular fitness, cardio wise, I’ve probably never been so healthy).

Fast forward through my rather miserable day at work, and I went out for a run.  I got through the first 5 minutes, struggling, telling myself that I would feel better and settle into it in the next 5 minutes.  10 minutes came and went, and I felt worse.  My legs were screaming out to stop.  I’d slowed down so much it wasn’t even a walk.  By the 12th minute I broke into a walk and just couldn’t recover.  My thighs and bum just couldn’t do it.

I’ve learnt a couple of things, amidst the excuses for not completing the run:

  1. I was too hot.  I wore my Nike baselayer thinking it was cold outside, when really I should have worn a t-shirt under my jacket.  I was boiling within minutes.
  2. I need to eat properly before a run.  An apple 2.5 hours before the run is not sufficient.  At best, it makes it mentally difficult when my stomach is growling, but when you add it in with everything else, it makes it worse.
  3. I probably need to listen to my body when it’s crying out for a rest day more, rather than just putting my unwillingness to go out down to a mental thing.  Sometimes it is physical.

I  am beginning to feel a bit daunted by coming to the end of Couch to 5k.  People who know I am following it are beginning to ask what I will do at the end of the podcasts.  Honestly, I don’t know.  I find the idea of losing Laura a bit scary.  I will download the speed and stamina podcasts too, but I will have to have a think about the future plans (music wise).

My exercise is definitely doing some good though, as the scales showed a 1lb loss this week, so that’s the 1lb on from last week gone.  Additionally, I have decided to get involved in a personal challenge with one of the other girls at group.  There is 1lb between us, and we’ve pledged to go on a 10 week “no gain” challenge.  I managed a 10 week consecutive loss, which finished 2 weeks ago.  Now, we’re challenging each other.  This is going to be good for me.  M has gone off the boil on the weight loss front lately and I don’t feel like I am getting the support I need from him, so doing this with a friend will help.

I feel a bit “blah” about the loss, mainly because I feel “blah” having not completed the run, but it is a good thing to have lost.  I need to regain my focus on the food front, and combine it with a good exercise plan.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “A Challenged Tub

  1. I hate to say it dear, but some days are just crap. When those happen you need to be kind to yourself and learn from the experience. Sounds like you are definitely doing the latter 🙂
    As for what you do post Laura, why not set up a 30-40 min playlist and try some new routes. Throw in a park run or two and you’ve got some goals to keep you busy. Take a bit of time to feel more comfortable and then gently start to extend your runs. As long as you are enjoying yourself does it matter if you don’t have a race/challenge to train for?
    Keep your chin up 🙂

    • Yep, definitely got to chalk this one up to “one of those runs”. I think I will do what you suggest about the playlist. I’ll look at that tomorrow maybe, on my day off.
      I guess you’re right about the race/challenge thing. Ultimately, the goal is weight loss then maintenance I guess. And if I can race a couple of times along the way, then it’s all gravy.

  2. One day I ran 2.5ish miles and felt awesome about it. It was my longest run I’d ever done. A few days later I tried to repeat it and only made it to about a half mile before I just stopped running. I’ve found from talking to people that there are two ways to run. 1) You set your goal and you say “I will run 2 miles” or whatever, and then you use that as your motivation. You know you can run it, so you do it. Or 2) you just go on a run and keep setting goals as you go. “I will make it to the next stop light”, and then “I will make it to the gas station” and so on. I tend to think in the second manner. If I know I’m going for a 3 mile run then I’m more likely to give up at the beginning because in my head I have so much further to go and I’m already tired and I give up. If I just ‘go for a run’ with no real goal in my mind, that’s when I tend to do the best. ALSO, having an awesome playlist is super important. I usually just used Pandora, but with my first 5K coming up I wanted to have a playlist so I wouldn’t get annoying commercials. It’s so much better. I don’t know what type of music you like to work out to, but I made a mix of a bunch of different genres. Smack in the middle of my playlist is the Thrift Shop song, which I think is hilarious and has a good beat. It just puts me in a good mood to listen to the song. I find myself smiling during my run when the song comes on. I didn’t mean to write this much, but I think it’s awesome that you’re training for a 5K since I am too and wanted to share what I’ve learned along the way 🙂

    • Thank you for posting! I am time based at the moment, but did recently try running a little longer (to the next lamppost!). I couldn’t have done this a few weeks ago, so I am also trying to remain realistic.

      I am definitely going to get on the playlist thing, so then I can alternate podcasts and music for my runs.

Leave a Reply

