Tub on the Run

Slimming World Friendly Lasagne

11 Comments

I am rubbish, and completely forgot to take a picture of my attempt, but figured I’d post this anyway.

Recently, I have been feeling a bit “meh” and “blah” (yes, mehblah) about the eating side of my diet.  I feel like I have got the exercise pegged at the moment, but I have let my eye stray from the path of healthy eating goodness (read: Extra Easy on Slimming World’s plan).  I sat in group with my friends, and one lady and I have challenged each other to a “no gain” challenge.  That means for 10 weeks, we cannot put weight on, but maintenance is ok.  Helpfully, we’re both around the same height and weight.  Since our catch up on Tuesday, I’ve been feeling pretty good about the whole eating thing.  Ergo, I have been eating properly since.  Last night’s tea (and today’s lunch) was lasagne.

M is, as I have mentioned, the King of Lasagne.  However, owing to us not having all the ingredients last night, we varied the contents a bit.  I prep, he cooks, we both avoid the washing up – we’re a good team.

Into the lasagne went:

  • 1 500g packet of extra lean mince beef
  • 1 red onion (finely sliced/diced/whatever you want)
  • a couple of stick of celery (finely sliced)
  • grated carrots (we used 4)
  • grated butternut squash (roughly half a squash)
  • handful of baby tomatoes
  • 1 500g tub of the free cottage cheese
  • couple of table spoons of fat free natural yogurt
  • 120g grated parmesan
  • lasagne sheets
  • splash of Worcestershire sauce
  • splash of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 carton of passata
  • 1 carton of chopped tomatoes
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1tbsp paprika

I preheated the oven to 200 degrees C, then got chopping/grating.

  1. Fry off the mince beef (you don’t need to add any oil) and add the onions in (who doesn’t love that smell!)
  2. Once browned, add in the veg (you can add whatever you have, but I recommend grating some of it if you don’t want to munch through whole bits of carrot).  Cook it off for a few minutes.
  3. Add the passata and chopped tomatoes.  Mix well, and add any seasonings (paprika, balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce).  Get the dish ready.
  4. Spoon half the mix into the dish, and layer with lasagne sheets.
  5. Add roughly half the pot of cottage cheese (sounds weird I know, but I think it works!), then layer up again.
  6. Add the remaining tomato/meat mix, layer, then add the rest of the cottage cheese.
  7. Pad out the cottage cheese on top with a couple of dollops of yogurt, before sprinking the parmesan over (try not to accidentally get sprinkle happy and get parmesan on your black cat like I did though, it looks like super bad dandruff).
  8. Bung it in the oven, top shelf, for about half an hour, and hey presto, there’s your lasagne.

We find that makes 4 very large portions – great if you’re ravenous.  Add in any veg that you want – that just happened to be what we had in the fridge and needed using.

Hmm.. Tanks don't like parmesan

Hmm.. Tanks don’t like parmesan

On extra easy, the whole thing is free if you’re using the parmesan as your HE A (we did).

So the 10 week challenge is on, and I am feeling pretty good about it.  I’d desperately like to see my weight get under 16 stone (224lbs) for the first weigh in in April, and be hitting low 15 stone (210lbs) by the end of our 10 week challenge.  Therefore Tub, that means you have to eat properly and exercise well (including behaving on rest days) over the coming days, weeks, months…

We’re off spinning tonight.  Happy days!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

11 thoughts on “Slimming World Friendly Lasagne

  1. We often forget a critical picture, like the finished product, or the most confusing step. I am glad you posted the kitty picture, because that is just adorable. Sounds good.

  2. Your doing well tub, Im sure you’ll hit your weight target.
    It took me forever to do that kind of weight loss (I started at 230lb myself), so Im always impressed with anyone who can make the pounds melt away 🙂
    Best wishes

    • Cheers Nev! Your encouragement is always nice, and makes me smile. I’m gonna miss your comments while you’re off on your holiday! Take lots of pics and do an epic blog post when you come back – I have to live vicariously through other peoples’ holiday right now. Sigh.

      • ta muchly 🙂
        Ah but you have the wedding to look forward to 🙂
        Keep up the running, I’ll be expecting a full report on how you breezed 30 min when I get back 🙂

  3. Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  4. Pingback: I’m on a roll! | Tub on the Run

  5. Pingback: Merry Tubmas | Tub on the Run

  6. Just tried it out….lovely thank you xxxx

Leave a Reply

