Tub on the Run

Profound wisdom and a 30 minute run

3 Comments

While reading blogs (again) on my lunch break yesterday, I came across this quote from Run and Jump – “You don’t have to like it; you only have to deal with it.”  That is completely it.  While I didn’t go out yesterday – it was hammering down with rain and blowing a gale, and despite my first run being in those conditions, it was even worse last night, I thought I’d head out to the gym first thing this morning, and get my first run of Week 9 in.

It’s been a long week, so inevitably my lie in barred me from a gym session.  I don’t do gyms when it’s busy.  I find them intimidating when they’re busy.  Instead, I decided I’d go at about 5pm.  The gym shuts at 7pm on Saturdays, and what sort of sad person would be in the gym at 5pm (yes… me).

I always look forward to breakfast at the weekend.  Today was a “fry” up (more grilled, but it doesn’t sound the same).  We were supervised, of course.

The Foreman supervises from up top

The Foreman supervises from up top

While the ground support ensures no spillages

While the ground support ensures no spillages

After a chat with my mum, then a wander in town, I decided to play around with the wedding invitations.  I am quite pleased with the results so far.  They’re not quite finished, so no picture yet.  I text a picture of it to my mum and sister, and they liked it so far which is good.

After much mess making in the living room, it was time to go out and do run 1 of week 9.  The 30 minute run.  As the weather still isn’t lovely, I opted for the treadmill.  It was my first treadmill run.  It was an experience.

Things I learnt:

  • It is incredibly hot in the gym, and the treadmill is sweaty work.
  • It is dull.  There is nothing to look at.  There are screens built into the treadmills, but you have to look down to watch them.  Who runs looking down all the time?  Not me.  Kung Fu Panda was on though.
  • My playlist is amazing.  I went without Laura, figuring I could set the  treadmill to a certain time, thereby avoiding the rubbish music on the podcast.
  • I turned a genuinely scary shade of red.  You may liken it to burgundy.  M thought I was about to die when I walked through the door.
  • Sustaining a pace is actually quite hard work.  When I go out, outside, I vary my pace a lot, but the treadmill forced me to keep consistent.  I think that’s a good thing.

Anyway, I didn’t much like it, but I dealt with it, and the upshot was that I completed my 30 minute run.  At the end of it, I was breathing out of my bottom, to coin Nev‘s phrase.  But…

I DID IT!!

From I ❤ to run (facebook)

It’s been a successful day.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

3 thoughts on “Profound wisdom and a 30 minute run

  1. I think your summary of a treadmill run at a gym is pretty accurate. Well done for seeing it through.

  2. I love that quote, “You don’t have to like it, you just have to deal with it!” I can definitely relate. I can also relate to your thoughts about the treadmill. I DO NOT like the treadmill….in fact that quote would sum up my feelings about the treadmill perfectly.

    Good job on getting your workout in. It is so tough sometimes. The gym intimidates me when it’s busy too. I also try to go during the “off times”. 😉

    • Thank you Melanie! Yeah, it was back to the great outdoors today, and it was harder, but I was much more happy outside. I guess the treadmill has its place though.

Leave a Reply

