Tub on the Run

Woo! New Shoes!

13 Comments

Pay Day

That’s the story of my life!  Too much month in my money.

Anyway, as a treat for completing the Couch to 5k, I decided to reward myself with some new kit.  This kit included new shoes, as I have started wearing a hole in the toe box of my current pair.  As a small aside, is it wrong to love a pair of trainers because they hold some significance for you?  I love my old pair, and I’m loathe to throw them out – I started running in them!  `I decided it isn’t silly, and they’re now my “any other workout” trainers.  Anyway.  Last month, I realised that the little independent shop I used last time doesn’t actually do gait analysis.  As my knees aren’t in the world’s best condition, I am obviously quite keen to look after them.  After a quick google, I found a Runners Need shop, not too far from where I live.  Ok, it wasn’t really “found” as I knew it was there, but I forgot about it.  Following a quick look around their website, it appears they do gait analysis for free.  Being new to this whole thing, I emailed and asked if you needed to book – no, just turn up with your old shoes and in something you can run in (work trousers are out for me).  I admit, I was sceptical about going in.  I’m still fat and don’t obviously look like a runner type.  I was sure they’d think that I’d accidentally stumbled into their shop having missed the turning for McD’s.

The Runners Need in Exeter isn’t that big – it takes up a small corner of the Snow & Rock store.  After a few minutes, the lady came over and asked if we were ok (M came with me).  After bumbling about how I have just started running, and completed couch to 5k, I asked her about new shoes.  I was asked to run on a treadmill for a minute in some different trainers while I was filmed.  After a minute or so of running, I got off the treadmill and looked at my slow motion film.  It’s strange seeing yourself run.  The lady was really good, and explained it all to me, then picked me out some shoes.  I am an overpronator it appears.  I looked at Saucony Omni 11s, and Asics GT-2000s.   I then had to run in both pairs for another minute.  Both pairs were really comfortable, and I struggled to choose between the two.  In the end, I picked the Asics, just because of the colour really.  I will keep my eyes peeled for a cheap pair of Omni 11s though, as they were great too.

DSCI0006

Overall, I liked the experience, though do think that the prices were quite high, so I’ll shop around more for the next pair.

In other news, I went to a kettlebells class for the first time last night.  I am dying today.  Actually dying.  My muscles are screaming at me to stop, don’t do anything, just sit down (yes, the treadmill was hard work for the gait analysis).  I would do it again though, which is probably a good job, as I am booked in to do it alternate weeks to spinning.

I can’t stop eating at the moment.  It’s ridiculous – I feel like I have lost all control.  I’d like to blame the hot cross buns.  It’s me though.  Just me.  I shall bury my nose in weight loss blogs and my latest Slimming World magazine to see if that helps.  I suspect it is because I am tired, sore, a bit low, and just struggling to work out whether it’s emotional food or genuine food cravings.  It’s unlikely to be genuine I’d have thought.  If my neck muscles weren’t so sore, then I would navel gaze a bit further.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

13 thoughts on “Woo! New Shoes!

  1. I had a gait analysis done last fall and it is so weird seeing yourself run, isn’t it? I think it’s wonderful that you’re getting fit! Good job on completing the C25K. I am starting it on Monday after an injury and a huge weight gain. I’m immensely envious that you’re ready to run a 5k. Have you heard of the April Arms Challenge at http://www.fitnessandfeta.com? I just joined for some extra arm work! Keep up the great work!
    Fianna
    http://www.countdownfrom50.wordpress.com

    • Hi Fianna!
      Thank you for commenting – it is very strange seeing yourself run, but running in slow motion too – I was actually quite impressed! Hehe!
      Not heard of the April Arms Challenge – I have horrendously poor upper body strength and find arm exercises a bit daunting, though did enjoy kettlebells (in a sadistic kind of way!). I will check it out though!
      Good luck starting c25k – you’ll do great! If you’d have told me just over two months ago that I would be running for 30 minutes, I’d never have believed you.

      • My arms are weak as wet noodles. My current goal is to do a pull up. Are you going to be running in a 5k race? I’ll be following your progress! Let me know if you decide to do the arm challenge.

        • Wow! A proper pull up would be amazing! I am hoping to run a 5k race at some point, maybe start doing the parkrun (it’s a free time trial), but I am looking at a 10k in the late summer.

  2. Hey come do killerton parkrun with me assuming you close as you went to Exeter running shop! Asics are the best my chosen shoe and watch out for outlet shop coming soon to clarks village (a small trek but with the on average £30 discount)

    • oooh thanks for the info about the running outlet! I can always find a reason to justify going to Clarks (even if it is just to go an sniff candles!).

      I’m gearing up to the Killerton Parkrun – I want to wait until it’s a bit drier underfoot first (new shoes and all that!) but I will hope to make it towards the end of April.

  3. Cool! New shoes are always nice and you obviously deserved the reward 🙂

  4. 26th April is Killertons second birthday might be a good one to go along too! There will be cake!

    • Cake you say…. That could be a deciding factor! You wouldn’t happen to have a Garmin altitude map thing (technical term) of the old course that you could post do you? I need to get working on hills, but don’t want to die around Killerton 🙂

  5. Not sure as was using old Garmin then and he won’t upload to web will let you know it I do. (It’s 27th btw got wrong date!)

  6. Try this I found it on the web, if you are worried about hills (I am!) DONT do the parkrun till it is back at the House, the forest route is awful!
    http://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/ElevationGraph.asp?RunType=A&RunID=2427

Leave a Reply

