Tub on the Run

Peacocks, a run and an action plan

6 Comments

I didn’t get the chance to blog yesterday – social butterfly that I am (pfft…).  It was chores in the morning, then out with my mum and sister in the afternoon.  It was nice to spend the time with them, but, leading the high-octane lifestyle that I do, the day wouldn’t have been the same without some element of terror (no, I’m not referring to my sister’s driving, or my mum getting all technological and joining the world of the ipod).  No.  I refer to peacocks.

I am terrified of peacocks.  I actually forgot that Trago Mills had them until we walked through the entrance, and there they were.  It was like the were waiting for me… One of the roof, one casually strutting around in the midground, and a host of them (what is the word for a multitude of evil death birds peacocks?  squadron? army? gang?) in the distance.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t limit my fear to the peacocks, the same terror applies to hens too.  Frustratingly, my sister wanted to nip to the loo when there were about 16 (ok… 3) in sight.  I sought protection from two ducks and a robin (no, not Batman’s sidekick, though he’d have been more help I’m sure).  My defence did me well, and we headed for shelter.  The thing is, you know that the peacocks were waiting for you when you got out.  It was like an obstacle course – they littered (stalked?) the narrow walkway.  Even the ducks hadn’t managed to make it up to the indoor bit to help me down the walkway, so I used mum as a human shield.

I really must remember not to wear bright colours in a peacock infested area.  I think it intimidates them.  At my old workplace, they had peacocks and I was chased across the car park by one (I was wearing a bright pink coat at the time).  I don’t know where my fear of them comes from, but I’ve been terrified of them for as long as I remember.

Once my blood pressure and heart rate had slowed (roughly the same time as I arrived home, into a peacockless environment), after tea, M and I headed out for a run.  M has decided that he is going to give Couch to 5k a go.  I said I’d stay with him and attempt a semblance of intervals.  I also wanted to test out my new shoes.

DSCI0033

The verdict is “hmm”.  I ended up with numb toes in both feet, so I am going to see if lacing them up differently helps.  Otherwise, I will have to suss out the Runners Need return policy on shoes, and trade them in for the Omni 11s.  I have a very vague recollection that my last pair of Ascics gave me numb toes, but I will see if lacing helps.  Any other tips would be gratefully received!  Anyway, the run itself wasn’t too bad.  I am still sore from kettlebells, so I am quite glad I didn’t run for the full 30 minutes today, but I did run hard with M (his pace is frustratingly quick compared to mine).

In other news, I’ve had a bit of a wake up call with my weight loss.  As I geared up to do my monthly stats post, resplendent with pictures, I plugged my current weight into my spreadsheet and it would seem that I have lost a piddling 2lbs this month.  This month!!!  Exercise – tick.  Food – big fat cross.  Yep, I have eaten far too much, and sometimes of the wrong stuff this month, and it is showing.  It would be all too easy to slip back into the ways of old, and pile the pounds back on.  I have an action plan:

  1. Plan.  And stick to the plan.  This includes prepping food today for tomorrow (we’re marshalling tomorrow, so I need to put a slow cooker meal on timer for when we get home).
  2. Use a food diary.  If I nibble it, scribble it.
  3. Remember I’m on a challenge, and don’t like to lose (competitions).  I’m a sore loser.
  4. Tackle it all one meal at a time.  Quit the snacking between meals – I’m not really hungry, so stop and identify the problem rather than wondering what is going on, midway through munching a cereal bar (or 4).

 

With that in mind, M and I are off to my parents’ for lunch, and then to his grandparents’ for tea.  Lunch will be healthier than tea, I can feel it now.  I am very lucky to have an incredibly supportive family (one that feeds me the right foods, and protects me from peacocks… though they do laugh at me for the peacock thing).

Chances are, I won’t be blogging tomorrow, as it’s the first event of the motorsport season, but you never know!

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Peacocks, a run and an action plan

  1. Hi Steph! 2 lbs is better than 0 lbs or a gain and we all have those moments where we drift off the path of fitness without realizing it. Eliminating snacks and keeping a food diary definitely helped for me. You’re doing great!
    Fianna

  2. I love your new shoes, but I’m sorry they are making your toes numb! 😦 I always buy my running shoes a full size bigger. Do you do that? Maybe that would help. I love Asics though.

    I’m sorry about the 2 pound disappointment too. Weight loss is so tough. I always have to remind myself to not give up and to try to be patient. It’s so hard. Good luck. 😉

    • Yeah, it’s a real shame! But never mind! They are bigger than my normal shoe size, I think it’s that my arches are a bit higher perhaps, as it’s across the top of my foot that there’s a problem. Hopefully I’ll get it all sorted tonight! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Monthly round up, success and new, new shoes | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

