Tub on the Run

Run, Walk, Scoff (and a “no change” on the scale)

5 Comments

What a busy few days! It really didn’t feel like we’d achieved that much over the weekend, but actually we did. A lot of the long put off household chores got ticked off the (seemingly neverending) list, I had a really nice natter with my sister before she headed back to where she lives, and we finally cleaned and aired the big tent, ready for this weekend.

I also took the time to put a plan into place for this week. I knew at the weekend that time was not going to be available in great quantity to me this week, and didn’t want to reap the motto “those who fail to plan, plan to fail”. Last week was not a good week. I felt quite low. I suffer with depression, and have been managing it quite well lately – I think the exercise has helped a lot. I think that could be part of the reason why I have felt so down over the last week – I didn’t get all that much exercise in last week.

This is a new week though, and I’m feeling much more confident and happy with things. Sadly, my laptop does not share this sentiment and has decided to stop charging. I need to take it to the computer doctor people, as it is beyond my powers to fix. My posting over the next week or so may be a little intermittent (unless I can jump onto M’s super-duper-all-singing-all-dancing laptop).

My planning efforts have gone well – we have the meals planned for the week, timings planned, and everything is set and ready to roll! We’re camping this weekend, and so I face the usual challenges of camping (free breakfast, snacks and treats etc, plus inclement weather conditions), but I have been introduced to the tin of Irish Stew, syn free Irish Stew. I can’t attest to its taste yet, but I’m impressed anyway – it’s a great, no waste, easy camping food stuff that doesn’t need temperature regulating (we’re fans of some of the other tinned foods for camping). Anyway, it was recommended by a man who lost 14 stone through Slimming World who came to our group recently. Tres inspiring (though sadly that was one group I wasn’t able to stay for).

Food planning… Tick!

Exercise wise, for some reason Zumba Tone wasn’t on last night, so rather than sloth about (like I desperately wanted to do), I agreed to go spinning instead. Hurrah for spinning… It was ok, though my ankle is a bit sore today (tried too hard). Tonight was a run – my first run for a week. I took my new shoes out for a spin.

DSCI0028

I got on really well with them – they gave me a slightly numb toe in my right foot, but it was very mild and I’m sure it will disappear as the shoes become more broken in.  On the thought of my run tonight, it really didn’t go very well.  I appear to have lost the ability to run for 30 minutes.  Or even 20 minutes.  I think I will probably go back to Couch to 5k for a bit and redo a couple of weeks.  I am planning to run on Saturday though, so I might see if it’s just a change of scenery that is required.  Hopefully I’ll be able to go for my run on Saturday on my own (M will probably meet up with his friends).

Wednesday is a day of rest, followed by a Thursday spin. Friday will involve tent erections (as in putting the tent up… dirty minds!!), and Saturday willinclude a run in a different county.

In other news, M has decided to quit Slimming World. I think it’s the right decision for him. He doesn’t go for the social side (like I do – I like the people I’m shrinking with) and so effectively he pays just to get weighed in. We’ve decided that so long as one of us is going and can get tips, then the other doesn’t need to, I’ll just weigh him in on our scales at home. We’ll end up doing the plan together anyway. It was weigh in day today.

Let me temper the result with this – I had a 3 course meal for Friday, then Juice Gnome came out (Juice Gnome is my mum and sister’s nick name for me, as I am like a homing device for fruit juices), then we went to Darts Farm and picked up some nice munches.

Bearing all of that in mind, I actually stayed the same weight.  It’s far more than I deserve really – it’s been only by the virtue of exercise that I have managed a maintain.

I’m sure my weight loss efforts have got off to a mediocre start – it was taster day at group.  I sampled key lime pie, 4 types of quiche, mini meringues, scotch eggs, sausages, houmous, scan bran cake….  It was all gorgeous!  I have to admit I didn’t take any home baked offerings, given my last attempt was most definitely not a success, and there was a good chance I may have killed someone off (well… they didn’t come back the following week!).

On that note, it’s tea time!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

5 thoughts on “Run, Walk, Scoff (and a “no change” on the scale)

  1. You covered a lot of ground here! Despite Ups and downs you also sound very positive, so well done.
    Loving the trainers dear. Don’t worry about the length of the runs, you can do it, the key is to keep doing it. 🙂

    • THanks – yeah, sorry it was a long one. I feel a bit lost without my own laptop at home so wanted to get as much in as I could 😦

      Trainers are lovely – very comfortable.

      Did you struggle after finishing C25K? I think I’ve just lost a bit of running fitness that I need to rebuild.

      How are you doing?

  2. Love the trainers. Love Darts Farm have to leave Mr Visa at home when I go there!

  3. Hey Steph! I am going to be organizing a May Middles Challenge to do daily workouts on our midsections. Haven’t got the exact details yet but I wanted to see if you’d be interested in joining?
    email if you like, veganfarmgirlinthecity@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

