Tub on the Run

Away… to Silverstone!

4 Comments

This is the last post I will probably be able to get in before Monday/Tuesday next week, because I’m nothing if not a social butterfly… Ok.  That’s a lie.  I’m just not near a laptop/computer for a few days, as M and I are off to Silverstone this weekend for the World Endurance Championship (woo!  GT cars… and prototypes… but mainly GT cars!).

Source - fiawec.com

Source – fiawec.com

So my quick recap of the last couple of days is:

  • Spinning

Oh my life that was hard work yesterday.  I go red very quickly, but don’t often drip sweat.  Last night I dripped.  Twice!  Delightful.  I upped my average watts though, and managed to burn more calories than normal (according to the possibly inaccurate spin bike).  Safe to say that I worked and I worked hard.  Maybe too hard.  My ankles are a bit sore around my Achilles tendon today, but it’s not bad enough to stop doing anything.

  • A busy evening

Following my spin session, we had a load of things to get done in preparation for our trip this weekend.  Cue washing, packing, cleaning, cooking and car loading, all the while, trying not to allow the big cat (Tank) eat Timo’s (the little cat’s) food.  The sneaky ex-alley cat is ninja-like in his quest for food.  I wouldn’t mind if he wasn’t about twice the size of Timo.  Obese feline aside, jobs accomplished, the car is packed, ready for the best ever getaway planned tonight.

  • Foodie Penpal

I’m all sorted now for my Foodie Penpal, and will be sending my package out next week.  I’ve successfully got the local produce from a local business in, so I’m pretty pleased with myself.  My penpal doesn’t have a blog, so I will make sure I include what I sent on my post when I get to do the write up.  I can’t wait to get my parcel from the lovely (and incredibly brilliant baker and recipe poster) What-a-Peach.

  • Food

I have been horrendous on the food front again.  My sweet tooth is playing up as it always does at a certain time of the calendar.  I seem unable to resist it, which is going to be interesting this weekend, as I am not planning to take any sweet stuff or any money to buy food with.  Poor M…

 PMT

My weekend plans?  Well, in preparation for the weekend, the car is loaded.  We’ve never managed to be so organised before.  We still have a couple of things left to gather when we get home, but overall, we’ll looking for a speedy getaway.  We’re camping (our usual mode during the summer months, not that it’s summer…), and now have electricity for the tent, courtesy of a hook up.  Does electricity mean that we are now “glamping”?  I’m just hoping that we have access to an electric point and that they’re not all taken, otherwise we won’t be able to survive very well.  My mum is very  kindly looking after the cats for us, and the cats are being deployed into guard cat mode and protecting our house.

 I’ve just done a route plan for Silverstone, for my planned run on Saturday evening, and conveniently the outer perimeter is measuring just over 5km.  I feel a time trial coming on.  I have all of my running gear packed, ready to go, and I’m just praying for a dry day.

 I hope you all have a fabulous weekend too!  See you on Monday or Tuesday!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “Away… to Silverstone!

  1. Im so impressed that you are actually going to run at Silverstone! That is real dedication
    Here’s to a smooth getaway tonight and a fab weekend.
    Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

