Tub on the Run

Humanity & Blood Donors

4 Comments

I was about to write a great long post about my weekend, but it all seems a little inconsequential given what’s just been happening across the pond in Boston.  I will write it up at some point, but not yet.  We have a friend in Florida, and M was on Skype to him yesterday when the news broke, so we quickly turned the channel over to Sky to watch the scene unfold.  Unsurprisingly the news is trending on Twitter.  I am astounded at our species’ ability to wreak havoc and destruction among one another, but I am also humbled by the amount of people who step up to the plate to help others out in such adverse conditions – people helping the wounded, runners giving blood after having run a marathon, locals making sure people have water/food, businesses offering shelter.

The incident has got me thinking that I really should get back to Blood Donors and get on the donating wagon again.  I used to donate regularly, but then had a stint of being a floater (my blood didn’t sink in the iron test, and it should).  I was treated and kept thinking that I should go back.  I’ve now booked myself in for an appointment at the next local session (next week). 

I don’t really know what else I can say – it’s all very sad.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “Humanity & Blood Donors

  1. That is awesome that you are donating blood. Such a great act of service in such a sad time.

  2. puts things in perspective doesn’t it

Leave a Reply

