Tub on the Run

A ’10k training plan’ plan

5 Comments

I am hoping it isn’t going to be too much longer that I am sans laptop of my own (I have sneaked on to M’s while he is out at the cinema).  I have realised I really do quite enjoy blogging and miss not being able to get my thoughts down and published.  Anyway.

I read an article on Run Eat Repeat the other day about training for a half marathon.  No, no.  Don’t worry, I haven’t lost my mind (entirely).  In Monica’s post, she talks about Hal Higdon’s training plans, so off I toddled, over to Mr Higdon’s website, and browsed the plans.  I have been thinking that it could be that I am struggling with my running as I am planless.  Couch to 5k is great in making sure that you get out for 3 days a week, and that you cannot progress to the next until the current week is complete.  Being left to amble along without any real structure is hard for me (I like boundaries and structure).  I have designs towards running an autumn 10k (maybe even a late summer one), so I thought the novice 10k plan could be the bout of structure I need.  I have shuffled around one of the days so that I can get in the right amount of gym classes.  It will also be interesting for me to take the pressure off the time limits, and look at distance instead.

I had planned to go to Zumba Tone tonight, but my partner in crime was very late, so I went home, resolving myself to some yoga instead.  I haven’t practiced yoga for roughly 18 months, and wasn’t exactly good at it at my peak.  For my “strength and stretch” session, I youtubed this:

I struggled.  I struggled a lot!  I seem to have regained the flexibility of a reinforced steel joist with little difficulty, and my muscles seem to have completely lost the ability to stretch well.  I still can’t do downward dog.  It’s just not comfortable.  I did enjoy the video though – it was challenging but in a nice way.

Food wise, this not blogging thing is really mucking things up.  I know my confessional is longer away than normal given the poorly laptop issue, and coupled with my extraordinary ability to selfsabotage around each milestone, it hasn’t been pretty.  It’s been quite tasty though.  Back on plan though.  Otherwise it’s all a mini yoyo.

I’m off to see if I can find my pendrive now though, as I had written a post for my Foodie Penpals reveal tomorrow, but I can’t find the silly thing now.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

5 thoughts on “A ’10k training plan’ plan

  1. I used Hal Higdon’s training schedules when I first starting training for half-marathons and LOVED them!!! -H (iamlyons.com)

  2. An autumn 10k sounds great! I think it’s really great having the goal of when to complete the final distance (I first set my date for a mid-May 10k six weeks ago) as I’ve found it really helpful in sticking with the training. It’s tough but super rewarding at the same time, look forward to hearing about it 🙂

    • I’m hoping I’ll start getting a bit more confident and settled with it. Only a couple of weeks for you now then? I’ll look forward to the report 🙂

      • Thanks! Yes, a couple of weeks! Getting nervous as I know I could run the distance but not sure if I like the idea of going to the race by myself (I need to suck it up 😉 ). I’ve said that I’ll leave it open and see how I feel on the day, eek! Hope the running’s going well!

Leave a Reply

