Tub on the Run

New Stone Zone

8 Comments

I completed the Tuesday of my Hal Higdon 10k plan.  Well.  Sort of.  I was meant to run for 2.5 miles, but I managed 2.34 miles.  I was out for just longer than 2.5 miles, but I had to take a couple of walk breaks and stopped the Garmin accordingly.  This was the wrong day to introduce hills.  I struggled quite a bit with the hills, managing to run up them roughly halfway, before my heart threatened to break my ribs from pounding too hard.  Don’t get me wrong, I hardly live in the midst of some hilly place like Wales, but nearly all of my running so far has been done on the flat.  However, I’m bored of the flat (as well as the pesky people who think it’s great to be moving obstacles).  I did enjoy the run though, especially the downhill bits!  It has made me realise that my first few “long” runs will need to be on the flat, maybe a couple of laps of the old route.

Steph Loop

My “hilly” run
(Sorry about the rubbish pic)

Today is a run and strength day.  I’m not entirely sure what I will a) be using for the strength or b) what exercises I should be doing.  I don’t have free weights at home.  M has some, but they’re at his nan’s house.  Maybe I should look to bring them down at some point.  I suspect using one of the cats as a kettlebell (despite the bigger one weighing more than my normal kettlebell) is unacceptable, and I don’t think we have many tins of food.  Hmm… I shall have to think.  Route-wise, I am going to be mixing it up and trying an out and back route, rather than my usual loops.

Last night’s weigh in was a roaring success.  I have broken into the next stone bracket down.  WOO!!!  There is nothing better than seeing a new front number.  I am really pleased with that.  It was a 2.5lb loss, which is great.  I will be taking my measurements at the weekend for my monthly round up at the weekend.  I don’t know how much will have changed on the inches front, but it was a better month weight loss wise.  Oh yeah, and I should take a progress picture (groan…).

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

8 thoughts on “New Stone Zone

  1. Congrats!! On both the weight loss but also on your bravery in tackling the hills! When I started running it was always on the treadmill (hence always a monotonous flat) – as soon as I got out on uneven/even mildly hilly terrain I suddenly realised running was HARD! Definitely all for mixing up the routes too to keep things interestin’ 😉

  2. maybe two or three flat options are needed, or try running your old route in reverse. Amazing how much difference that makes 🙂
    Well done, we’re both on the 2.5lb a week club now :-). Lets keep it up.

  3. Good going. Nice one.
    I saw a new number on the scales too. I didn’t like it as much as you did.
    Stupid pizza(s)!

Leave a Reply

