Tub on the Run

When does it get easier?

17 Comments

Another two miles pegged last night.  I ran round the local park and along the path next to the railway line.  I’ve finally worked out how to use the alarms on my Garmin, so it buzzed loudly when I got to my two mile marker.  I have not been so relieved to hear an alarm for a long time.  As I was walking home, I got thinking – when does this get easier?

I know this is all relative.  I can run for a lot longer, a lot faster than when I first started out.  My very first run was 1.94 miles, at a 16:23 minute mile.  Ok I’m hardly up to Mo Farah standards of quick, but I ran 2 miles today at a 12:01 minute mile.  That was with walk break in both runs.  Frustratingly, I seem to be struggling to run for 30 minutes straight.  I’m heading out too quickly and tiring myself.  Also, I’m now running on pavements where I have to stop to cross the road, and have started incorporating hills.  Unsurprisingly I am able to run downhill for much longer than run up.  That’s to be expected I guess.  Bulk is gravity’s friend and vice versa.

I remember going out for the first time on 25th January and being so pleased with myself for being able to complete Week 1 Run 1.  I also remember it feeling pretty difficult (though the weather didn’t help).  I couldn’t have run at the speed I run at now for longer than 30 seconds.  When I take walk breaks now, I am able to recover within a minute and get going again. 

However, it isn’t easy.  Please, someone, tell me it does get easier?!

I’m mostly back on plan today, with my syns much closer to where they should be (still 21, so not amazing, but comparatively much better than they were).  For some strange reason, I have had a mad craving for cereal bars today.  This can be a difficult thing for me to handle, as I do love cereal bars.  I had also a moment with a Mr Kipling Lemon Slice.  I am feeling better for it already though, so I’ll be saying goodbye to the 1.5lbs I put on this week.

Tonight’s cross training consists of spinning.  I’m hoping for Pendulum – Slam to be one of the tracks (high resistance with short sprints).  I’m also looking forward to seeing N, as I haven’t seen her for a week and a half or so, and we’ve both been busy so it’ll be nice to have a natter.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

17 thoughts on “When does it get easier?

  1. It does get easier! And look how far you’ve already come!!

    • Thanks! I know, it’s just one of those things where I don’t feel it is easier, but I know, deep down, that it is, and I wouldn’t find something like Week 1 of C25K hard any more. Thank you for commenting 🙂

  2. No, it doesn’t get easier, and that’s kind of the point. You could go out and run for 30 minutes straight at your original 16+ minute pace but you’re not. You’re constantly challenging yourself, and that’s a fantastic thing. It doesn’t get easier because as soon as you can run for 30 minutes straight, you’ll begin to fit more distance in to that 30 minutes.

    But it does get more fun. It becomes more enjoyable when it’s not just a struggle to finish 2 miles, but you’re pushing yourself to do it in 22 minutes, then 20, and then 18. You remind me of my own attempts at running when I began – 12 minute miles were a huge milestone. Three years later I can do 5 at a 10 minute pace, and you will too. Love your journey – you’re killin’ it!

    • Thanks! It definitely is more fun, and I’m able to run different routes which helps keep my interest up. You’re right – I am constantly challenging myself, even now. Thank you for commenting 🙂

  3. Running your two miles will get easier! 🙂 But there is always something NEW to be challenging, so running in itself will never be easy! Lol There is always the need to go faster or longer that keeps it challenging.

    What gets easier is getting in the right mind set… you go into it know it is hard and you are probably going to be uncomfortable at times.. but your mind is what keeps you going — as you are running try having a mantra that keeps you going. When I hit rough patches, I typically will tell myself positive things like “your can do it” or “You don’t need to stop” or “This discomfort will pass and you’ll be glad you didn’t stop” etc — 🙂

    • Thanks Morgan! I have been trying to chant (in my head) little mantras to keep me going, or in walk breaks. I just need to man up a little bit 🙂 Maybe I need to follow your lead and think more positively (and add in some Morgan Freeman voice overs!) Thanks for your comment!

      • HAHA! 🙂 Thinking about Morgan Freeman narration would be a hoot! 🙂 Do you run with music? Sometimes that helps too. OR at the very least, if you have a smart phone, sometimes I run with a metronome app Lol — Anything to get into the “running trance” mode!

        • I do run with music. I need to get a new playlist together actually, but sadly my computer is poorly (I’ve nicked M’s tonight), so I’ll make do with my random shuffles.

  4. I don’t think it gets easier and thats because like the government we keep moving the goal posts-distance then speed! Also sometimes it flows others not so, if only we could work out where that magic button is that to get that ‘flow’ every time but then maybe that would make it boring and not such a challenge. The next one will be better.

    • The next one WILL be better! And I am due to run over 5k on Sunday, and I think we’re free the weekend after this one (though I may be stuffed from the County Show), so I am planning my parkrun debut. I’ll be the scared looking larger person there. By the way – if you can, definitely go to the County Show at Westpoint. The food is brilliant, the animals are gorgeous (maybe not the chickens), and there’s plenty to watch.

  5. You’ll think nothing has changed for ages and ages then one day it will just hit you that you’re now insanely fit! x

    • You’re right! I was saying to M the other day that I can’t remember a time when I was physically fitter (ok, I’m fatter than I have been, but then I’m thinner than I have been too). Thank you 🙂

  6. Totally agree with the posters who say that it gets easier (in the sense that you’ll soon finish 2 miles no probs) but it also never gets easier (because you’ll want to continue challenge yourself). So yes, welcome to the world of running! Fiercely addictive and where the most important competitor is yourself 🙂

    • Thanks MM! Yes, I am too competitive with myself sometimes and I can be easily frustrated, but I’ve just picked yoga back up again (you reminded me I used to enjoy it) and that’s helping even the competitive side out a little.

Leave a Reply

