Tub on the Run

My successful camping trip

4 Comments

You know those weekends where they’re really good and you collapse into bed exhausted?  Yep?  I’ve had one of them.  I have split this post out, as I can appreciate not everyone will want to read my camping/marshalling ramblings.

Camping/Marshalling

For the first time in the four years I have worked where I do, I left for a week off before 9pm.  I get really paranoid that I will have left something huge and it’ll stitch up my team in my absence.  Inevitably, I never do, the company doesn’t cease to trade in my absence, and no commercial incidents happen.  Anyway, M and I left work on Friday (ok, a little bit late) and headed up to Silverstone.  We encountered all manner of weather on our way up, from gale force winds, hail, rain, sunshine, the lot.  As we got closer to Silverstone, the wind didn’t seem to be dying down.  I hate/loathe/despise putting a tent up in the dark and in the wind.  I swear that as soon as we arrived, the wind died.  Putting up the tent was actually easy.  We didn’t do too bad a job of it either.

060

A weekend of marshalling the British GTs ensued.  I love sports cars.  You can keep your silly F1 cars (though I don’t dislike single seaters as a general rule).  For me, it’s all about the wishlist cars.  I love the sound, the look, the smell (yes, the smell – nothing quite like an early morning pit walk to indulge the petrol sniffer side of me).  I won’t bore you with the details (if you really are that fussed, you can read an excellent report here).

Saturday, I collapsed into bed at 9pm, and slept until 5.30am.  I hadn’t realised quite how sunny it would be, and had neglected to put on sunscreen on Saturday (ouch).  That was soothed though, by a shot of icy cold water, courtesy of the shower that didn’t have an aimable head and spurted out cold water at such velocity as to make me scream (I’m sure the other marshals in the campsite wondered if I was having a When Harry Met Sally moment).  Another day, avec sunscreen and thankfully less wind saw the 3 hour endurance race for the GTs.

At the end of the day, the leader of the post (a “post chief”) had upgraded me, so I have now officially gone from Trainee Marshal to Track Marshal.  That doesn’t actually mean much, except I can now be left to look after Trainees and can apply to do the F1 (which I probably will do, as M wants to do it one day) and Goodwood Revival and Festival of Speed (which I am much more interested in doing).  Otherwise, it will probably be business as usual, with a little bit more responsibility.

Originally, we had planned to camp at Castle Combe on the Sunday night, ready for a day of racing at Combe on the Monday, but we made the decision to stay at the local Travelodge because of a lack of electric hook up at Combe (and therefore, a lack of airbed).  Another great day marshalling.

Food, Exercise and Weigh in

I was quite pleased with myself this weekend, as normally camping is a bad food time for me.  It is definitely much easier to eat complete rubbish when you camp.  However, with a bit of thought and willpower, I made better choices.  M and I found the Tesco at Towcester, so managed a quick trip on Saturday night for supplies on Sunday.  I used my food vouchers at Silverstone for salads.  Now, while the salads weren’t exactly brilliant in their Slimming World values, they were a much better option than others available.

Eating properly last week and over the weekend saw me lose 1.5lbs at Slimming World today.  I had been on track for a better loss, but I’ll definitely accept that.  Especially seeing as my exercise over the weekend was negligible.  I am going to redo last week of my 10k plan, as I didn’t hit the runs at all.  One thing that is bothering me is that I don’t seem to be able to run for 30 minutes like I could at the end of Couch to 5k.  I am sure it’s a mental problem, and I know I have mentioned this problem before.  I definitely seemed to do better with no music on my long run last time out, so I might try podcasts or audiobooks.  I’ve also done a couple of runs on the dreadmill, and I think that’s killing a bit of the joy of running, so I’ll head back outdoors again.

I have the week off, and I am thoroughly looking forward to doing nada (well… kind of nada).

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “My successful camping trip

  1. Are you at the end of the C25K program now? If it makes you feel any better, it took a LONG time for me to run for 30 minutes straight – part of me thinks it was also breaking through a mental barrier as once I stopped once I ended up stopping about a gazillion times in a run (plus I struggled with stitches in the beginning). I think distraction is great if it works for you, otherwise is there anyone you can run with to keep you going on a run?

    Camping sounds wonderful (though I know zilch about marshalling 😉 ) and I love having a good sleep in the open 🙂 I’m off camping this weekend (we couldn’t go this weekend gone in the end) but at a music festival no less so I too am fully aware of the bad ‘food choices’ which will be rife – whilst I don’t mind a treat I hate feeling so yuck from 2 full days of binge drinking and crappy food – so will hopefully have some self control to make some good choices!

    • Yeah, I finished C25K a while back now, towards the end of March I think, then I stupidly lost my way and stopped. I also had a bit of bad times with new trainers (Asics hate me, I’m destined to live in Saucony). I can go for a good mile and a bit without thinking anything of it, but I think I need to mix things up and not lose sight of the fact that I am now going much further than I had before. It will come with better fitness I think, and also not letting the naughty Inner Tub tell me that I can’t do it.

      Camping was excellent, and made so much better with electricity. It’s been so cold this year at night that I have been eternally grateful for having electric and a heater 🙂 That said, it was definitely warmer this weekend. That’s a shame you couldn’t go camping, but a festival and camping will be great fun! Drink lots and lots of water – that will help with the yucky feeling. Did you have a nice weekend?

  2. Hey you. Well done on all counts. A highly successful weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

