Tub on the Run

Day Trips – Exeter and Dartmoor

6 Comments

I am thoroughly enjoying my week off so far.  My only concern is that it seems to be galloping by far too quickly for my liking.  I’m trying very hard not to think of the fact that I have no holiday time booked between the end of this week and when mother-in-law gets married in September.  Fourteen weeks between now and then.  Scary!  I do have a couple of things to look forward to though, so it’s not all doom and gloom.

Yesterday, M and I headed in to Exeter.  My car needed its MOT test and a major service, so we dropped the car off and walked into the city.  It was a pleasant day, and we stopped off at the cathedral green to work out our plan of attack.

Exeter Cathedral

Exeter Cathedral

Memorial on the green for Lee Rigby

Memorial on the green for Lee Rigby

The plan was to wander about, window shopping until lunchtime.  We headed into our usual haunts, with me half heartedly looking for a nice dress for mother-in-law’s wedding (no success).  Lunchtime came, and we made our way to Yo! Sushi.  I have wanted to try sushi for a long time, and have said to M about eating at a Yo! Sushi when we’ve been in Cribbs Causway in Bristol.  He’s never been too keen, but somehow his arm was twisted this time.  It was a great experience – lean principles in action.  I had no plan of what to eat, and just picked anything I liked the look of.  It was great!  I didn’t have lots of fish, as I am not the biggest fish fan, but I enjoyed the bits of fish I did have.   Safe to say, I am a Yo! Sushi convert.  I’m not sure I’d chose that over Wagamama, but it could be a tough call.

This year, the Royal Albert Memorial Museum reopened, after a long period of refurbishment.  I hadn’t been in since my final year in sixth form, when we were studying William Blake in English Literature, and conveniently there was an exhibition for Songs of Innocence and of Experience.  That would have been [groan] 11 years ago.

A cultural Tub

A cultural Tub

As children, Mum used to take my sister and I there on a regular(ish) basis.  There were things that I was keen to make sure were still there, like Gerald the Giraffe, and the Egyptian mummy.  They were there!

Elephant next to Gerald

Elephant next to Gerald

Sadly, news came in whilst M and I were wandering around, that I was likely to have to sell a kidney to pay for my car’s repairs.  Oh well, it’s only money – you only life once (thank goodness – it would be too expensive to do so multiple times!)!  After a really enjoyable day out, M and I settled down to watch the latest series of True Blood (my love, next to Spartacus).

Today rolled around too quickly.  My sister, Mum and I were going to spend the day together, but Mum had overexerted herself yesterday (they had gone out for a bike ride for the first time this year) and stayed at home.  My sister, P, picked me up, and off we headed to Dartmoor.  P is a slave driver great support in my battle with the bulge and beat me encouraged me up two sizeable hills.

074

I jest, it wasn’t that bad, and I did actually mutter that the masochistic side of me thought it would be great to walk up this hill.  Me and my big mouth…

We walked all the way to the top

We walked all the way to the top

Now, I didn’t truly appreciate how steep that hill was (the picture doesn’t do it justice!), and had to take several rest breaks on the way up, but the view from the peak was amazing.

I thought the rocks in the middle ground were at the  top of a big hill...

I thought the rocks in the middle ground were at the top of a big hill…

What was also very nice was the Dartmoor foals.  Everything seems late this year (maybe due to the weather), and the foals don’t seem to be an exception, though these guys aren’t brand new.

101 110

In our attempts to get a little bit closer to the ponies, we ended up in blanket bog, and I sunk my foot quite deep into one puddle.  Thankfully, P did the same (misery wet feet love company).

Bog bodies!

Bog bodies!

I really enjoyed my day out today, even if I am now so windswept…

windswept and out of puff

windswept and out of puff

… that I am dreading brushing my hair later.  I feel it will be a conditioner and comb in the shower jobbie.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Day Trips – Exeter and Dartmoor

  1. Sounds like you had a great couple of days! I hate how holiday time goes really quickly too, and it also feels that these few brighter months are whizzing by so I want to make the most of the summer 🙂 Loving all the pics, am loving the windswept look (I’m a big fan of messy bed hair hehe)! As for Yo!, that converted me initially to sushi, but actually once you get started there are some really fab other sushi places (with much better quality food for much cheaper) though I’m not sure if there are any local to you because if so would recommend trying it 🙂 I now rarely go to Yo! as there are so many great places in London which are a bit less pricey! Am definitely a massive sushi fan though! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

    • Tell me about it! I am trying to get outdoors as much as I can this week to make the most of the sunshine. I don’t know if there are any other sushi restaurants in Exeter. I feel a google coming on! You’re so lucky to have such diversity in London. It makes me envious, though I’m not sure I could live in London itself.

      Have a fab weekend too! 🙂

  2. Looking great there Tub! Well done on getting up those hills, I would have been watching you with Bino’s from the pub 🙂
    You joining in Juneathon? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Reflections | Tub on the Run

  4. Pingback: Foodie Penpals – June 2013 | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

