Tub on the Run

Juneathon – Day 1

10 Comments

The most original title to date!  I had a look at Juneathon after Never2late4 mentioned it, and I decided that I could probably do this.  Now, I am flexing the “rules” a little bit, in that I won’t be running every day.  I don’t think I could to be honest, and I definitely wouldn’t want to – forcing the issue will suck the joy out of running.  I will exercise every day though, and the majority of it will be running.

Today, M suggested that we go for a walk along the coastal path of the Jurassic Coast.  After a spot of lunch, off we headed to Orcombe Point to pick up the path.  I haven’t been along that path for many years.  I forget how pretty it is (especially on a day like today).

DSCI0008

Now, originally, M had mentioned that he’d like to go to Otterton.  He has absolutely no idea of how far that would have been.  It was really nice to be outside, chattering on, panting and nearly dying up the cliffs, but rewarded with some beautiful sights.

In the distance, where we were heading - Budleigh Salterton

In the distance, where we were heading – Budleigh Salterton

Along the route, we kept seeing signs for how far away the villages or towns were.  Having now mapped the route on mapometer, it would appear that the signs were in fact measured in country or Welsh miles.  Upon arrival into Budleigh, it was time for a drink, so we nipped into the Spar to get some water, before continuing our journey home.

Rather than go back the way we came, we decided to go along the old railway line, which meant trekking out of Budleigh and picking up a woodland path, crossing a field, and then walking down the old railway line.  As we arrived back into town, we decided tea would be salad and cold meats.

My feet hurt now.  I can’t remember the last time I walked so far.  Given the country mile markers, I really wasn’t sure how far we’d walked.  Mapometer says 10.27 miles.

Walk 1st June

It is now time to put my feet up, mentally prepare myself for getting up and going to the park tomorrow with my friend to do our urban gym thang.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

10 thoughts on “Juneathon – Day 1

  1. Great walk. I didn’t run today as it was Cybher followed by double tantrum that lasted from the time I got home until they both fell asleep 😐 So Juneathon will not happen even though I thought it would.

  2. Hey so glad you doing juneathon great news. Your post has made me suffer from Devon envy as am in Essex this weekend, would rather de in Devon walking 10 miles and have made a note of your route!

  3. Well done, great start to Juneathon 🙂
    One fellow did planking every day for Janathon, so don’t feel you have to run 🙂
    Enjoy

  4. Pingback: First 5k of the Juneathon | 5kperday

  5. Pingback: Collecting my first race number …. Juneathon 1/30 | lovelifeandhappyeverafter

Leave a Reply

