Tub on the Run

Reflections

6 Comments

As clichéd as it sounds, I can’t believe where this year is going.  It’s June.  How did June sneak around so quickly?!

In part, prompted by Lucy’s recent post, I have decided to reflect a little on where I am right now.  I started with my (now removed) Tub’s 13 in 2013 page.

My 13 list

My 13 list

I don’t think that some of the things in there are realistically achievable, given what’s happened so far this year.  Pretty much anything that requires financial commitment is out.  The important thing happening this year is marrying M.  All financial resource is being ploughed into that right now.  Some of the things of that list don’t interest me any more either, so I’ve decided to scrap the 13 goals, and focus on getting fitter, slimmer and not feeling like an oversized troll in a white dress.

So, a quick check in, a la Lucy:

Physically

I am ironically probably been in the best shape I have ever been in, in terms of fitness, just sadly not in terms of weight.  I have ticked off a fair few non-scale victories as well as being able to say I can run for longer than I had ever managed before.

“Me”

I have been suffering with stress quite a bit lately, and it isn’t getting much better.  I have had the week off, and in all honesty, I think I left it too long to have some time out from work, as I haven’t recharged very much.  It is work that is probably my major stressor, and the exercise helps to keep a balance and stop me from going bonkers.  I have some things that I need to put in place to make sure I achieve a better mental/emotional health and deal with the issues.  Sadly, it’s 14 weeks until my next holiday.

Stuff I am enjoying:

  • Exercise, and strangely I feel markedly more irritable when I can’t get out, or don’t get out.
  • New friends – I’ve really started to click with some people in my Slimming World group and hope to grow those friendships more.
  • Foodie Penpals – I love receiving parcels, and it’s even better knowing it’s a (nice) surprise inside.
  • Time with my family – I’ve really enjoyed spending time with my mum and sister lately (County Show with Mum, and Dartmoor with P)

Some areas to work on:

  • Budgeting – enough said!
  • Completing my psychometric qualification (I have two assignments outstanding, and have been procrastinating quite spectacularly)
  • Tidy house, tidy mind?
Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. As ever, I think you’re being very sensible taking time to evaluate what is really meaningful to you in terms of goals. Well done. You just need to remember the difference between pushing and killing yourself (that goes for work as well as home)
    Brave girl putting tidy house on your things to work on list. Id never get there 🙂

  2. Okay – You must go climbing, it’s so much fun..mentally and physically plus it is not expensive (hooray!)..
    I’m with you on the park run, I need to try our local one and I’m moving in with the BF to save to become a home owner rather than a renter so completely with you on that one also.
    Try not to worry too much about the scales, they often fib, bully and make you feel worthless! – But hey..they can be kind sometimes too!

    • I have been climbing once but who do you get to belay if you aren’t friends with any climbers?

      I shall try not to worry about the scales. I have a plan of attack up my sleeve, all I need to do is get to Tesco 🙂

  3. Lovely lady, totally with you on the whole ‘where is the time going?!’ this summer, it seems to be whizzing by, and we’re all clinging on for dear life not to get left behind 😉 Sorry to hear that you’ve been stressed recently – but glad that you’re addressing it head on (tis the only way!). Also with you on how financial-constraints really limits certain projects or decisions – no wonder when you have a wedding to plan 🙂 I love the idea of foodie penpals – just wish I had it together enough to do it! Maybe sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

