Tub on the Run

A good weigh in

15 Comments

I am really pleased to report a good loss of 3.5lbs this week.  I even updated my photos page.  I am now the lightest I have been for probably over three and a half years.

I think what really helped was having a good variety to my meals.  It was getting all a bit samey – chilli con carne, lasagne, carbonara etc, and it made a nice change to have a lot of salads and some new meals (and some variations on a theme).  When I feel myself getting into a rut, I think it will do me some good to follow a 7 day plan from the magazine.  The only thing I would say is that having such a variety in my diet does make for an expensive shopping trip.  However, if it kick starts my weight loss again, then it is worth it.

I have found it easier to resist the office snacks too, which I think has been down to the more grazing approach which the 7 day plan seemed to encourage.  I’m not saying I have been 100% saintly (there was that trifle sundae on Sunday after all), but I’ve been trying to pay more attention to how I feel.  Also, I am a scan bran convert – it takes me nearly all morning to eat the prescribed 5 for my Healthy Extra B with cottage cheese.

I’m pleased with how things are shaping up, literally, too:

January 2013 253.5lbs

January 2013 253.5lbs

So January 2013, I felt and looked like a blob.  My face was all podgy and I just didn’t feel good in my own skin.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not exactly wasting away now, but I can see a difference, and I can definitely feel a difference.

June 2013 - 221lbs

June 2013 – 221lbs

It’s only about a dress size worth of difference so far, but it is pleasing (for me) to know that I am slimming, as there are times when I just don’t feel like I am.

It’s another 3lbs to my next half stone award, and I am hoping that with some sensible eating, taking away some of the learning points from last week, and keeping up a food diary for this week, I will be close to achieving (or actually achieving) this next milestone in my weight loss.

Exercise wise, I haven’t really been doing anything.  While my foot is on the mend, I wore my running shoes around the house, and my feet weren’t happy, so I have postponed running by another week.  As it turns out, I don’t have the opportunity to go to spinning tomorrow night, as I am meeting my dad for tea as we need a catch up.  I have decided that, when I am getting back into running, I will do a week of 1 milers so that I don’t aggravate my foot too much.  From there, I will get back to my Hal Higdon 10k plan, starting at Week 1 again.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

15 thoughts on “A good weigh in

  1. Congrats on the good weigh-in! That’s awesome!! 🙂 Great job!!!

  2. Time to change your name from tub i think

  3. Looking great (literally!) Steph – can definitely see the progress 🙂 ! I also love how the meals you’ve posted look really tasty (and balanced) – two things which will make it easier to stick with the plan… But you’ve clearly been doing a great job (& the weeks where you’ve just maintained haven’t set you back at all – maybe it was just your body stabilising instead of crashing too quickly 🙂 )… As for the foot, I hope it feels better soon! Definitely rest on the running to help a speedier recovery – agree that spinning is a good alternative (this is what I did when I was injured 🙂 )

    • Thanks Lucy! The meals have been really good actually. I don’t really know why I am surprised, as they usually are quite tasty. I’m currently food coma-ing from a massive cottage pie. I’m hoping that I can get back to both spinning and running next week, but I suspect spinning will be easier as the shoes are inflexible so should give me support. I’m getting bored of not doing either!

  4. Well done you! And i think a week of 1 milers sounds like a good idea.

    • Thank you! Yeah, I think slowly slowly catchy monkey is probably the way forward (if monkeys are injury prevention…). I meant to say well done on your pull up on today’s #juneathon, so well done!

  5. Look at you babe. You are doing brilliantly and looking fabulous. Well done, keep up the good work 🙂

  6. Awesome Job Girl! Looking Good!

  7. Well done on your weight loss!

Leave a Reply

