Tub on the Run

Doughnut dodging disaster

2 Comments

Oh dear.  It’s not been a good day.  I started out being organised, but sadly it’s gone downhill somewhat.  I tripped up some stairs, then nearly got decapitated by a flying cupboard door (that had broken away from his hinge) and smashed a mug, all within the space of 5 minutes.  Then my manager wanted to sit in on my induction (I hate public speaking anyway, and hate it even more when I’m being assessed, though it wasn’t a formal assessment).  Thankfully, the post mortem debrief was levied more at my nerves and ability to speak at a million miles an hour when I am nervous.

Couple the above with a colleague’s birthday (read: plenty of cakes and doughnuts), it hasn’t been a good day for food.  I’m surprised I’ve made it down off a sugar high.  Oh wait.  I did come down.  I crashed, mid afternoon.  The future is neither bright, nor orange, for my weigh in tomorrow.

With the guilt of stuffing my face full of doughnuts, crispies, and swiss rolls, I decided it was time to get back on it.  Back to Week 1 of my 10k plan I trudge (it feels very much “You’ve eaten cake, go straight to jail outdoors and exercise, do not pass “Go”, do not collect £200).  Day 1 is a strength and stretch day.  I chose yoga.  I’ve been struggling with my post sugar trough, so yoga made sense to me.  I need to get back to more regular yoga practice.  I always feel better after it, but just don’t put enough focus on it for some reason.

Fingers crossed for light thoughts tomorrow.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

2 thoughts on “Doughnut dodging disaster

  1. We must be in sync Steph, I had a totally rubbish day yesterday as well! I don’t know why but I was just in a grumpy mood all day (PMS is probably a contributing factor too 😉 ), ate a whole load of junk and just felt exhausted on my run and ended up spraining my ankle. Twice.

    Anywho, just to let you know you’re not the only one! Hope you’re feeling better today 🙂 Good work on the yoga, I really want to start incorporating it into my weekly schedule too…

    • I’m glad it isn’t just me. Could we blame it on the weather? I hope your ankle isn’t sore and you’ve not picked up an injury. I hate twisting my ankle (I went through a stage when I was younger of tearing ligaments in my ankles, and it always makes me paranoid now).

Leave a Reply

