Tub on the Run

No PB, but a good weekend with added Gromits

4 Comments

After my monster workout on Thursday, I was suffering already on Friday.  My back hurt the most, but as the day progressed, my shoulders and arms started aching too.  As I crawled into bed on Friday night, I wondered whether I’d actually be able to go to parkrun on Saturday morning.  I hurt.  I wasn’t just sore, I was hurting (yeah yeah, overdramatic I know).

I confess, I didn’t exactly spring out of bed on Saturday morning, but I did make it to Killerton.  I started off much better than the week before, and I felt good.  I thought I was running for more than I was walking (side note: Gah!  Why can’t I run continuously any more?!), and I felt my pace was more consistent as a result.  Not only that, but I wasn’t at the back.  M actually caught a couple of pictures of me:

parkrun 29.6.13

I felt good, better in fact that last week, despite my sore muscles.  The result?  4 seconds slower.  Oh well!  I wasn’t last though.  I am wondering what the result will be next week.  Apologies too for the selfie – but it had a purpose.  I decided, having spoken to one of the guys at work about muscle soreness to try a protein shake (hence the picture).  I spent quite a lot of time of Friday night researching whether protein shakes should be avoided by those trying to lose weight (general consensus: research the protein v carb content, and factor it in to your calorie allowance).  After my run, we stopped by our local smoothie bar, and I ordered a protein shake.  It was quite tasty.  I will, however, see if I can find a couple of sample powders to try and make my own at home, as buying shakes could prove to be expensive.

I don’t know whether it was the shake itself, or maybe a placebo effect, but I am not feeling anywhere near as sore as I think I probably would have been.  I’ve decided, therefore, that when I double up spinning and kettlebells, my tea will be a shake when I get in (I don’t want to eat that late in the evening, but I can’t deal with the muscle soreness).

The rest of the day was spent with M’s family.  Mother-in-law is getting married again in September, and a shopping trip had been planned so that M and I could be kitted out in appropriate wedding attire.  A trip to Bristol it was.  All over Bristol were lots of Gromits (from Wallace and Gromit, not grommets for ear problems).  It is part of Gromit Unleashed, an art exhibition of 80 5ft Gromits and is in Bristol for 10 weeks from 1st July, raising money for The Grand Appeal (Bristol’s Children’s Hospital).  I snapped this one is Cabot Circus.

Gromit - Simons Cat

We did see a couple more, but annoyingly I didn’t have my camera on me, and my phone camera is very poor (stupid Blackberry!).  That said, for my phone, this came out rather well.  I sent this to my sister tout suite, because it’s a Simon’s Cat Gromit (she got me in to Simon’s Cat a couple of years ago).  Simon Torfield, creator of Simon’s Cat, makes sketches and video clips of cat behaviour that will resonate deeply with cat owners.  A favourite of mine being:

I really want to go back to Bristol and go on a Gromit Hunt.  We have quite a quiet month in August, so I may pester M into having a weekend there to track them down.

Notwithstanding Gromit spotting, we had a really nice afternoon out and about, and I came away with a gorgeous purple maxi dress from Hobbs (in the sale too – what’s not to love!) and M got a new suit.  Frustratingly, my foot has started playing up again.  It is sore in exactly the same area as it was when I injured it last time.  I’ve decided to try and take it easy today to help it heal, and I may decide to back off the running (not that I have actually done any between parkruns… Oops) if a day with it resting doesn’t help.

Hope everyone’s had a great weekend too!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “No PB, but a good weekend with added Gromits

  1. Glad you got to parkrun again nd that it feet better, too bad this did not reflect in the time, but there s always next time. In regards to foot mayb you need more support, maybe an in sole?
    Thanks for heads up on Grommit, so going to Bristol soon.

    • The Gromits are brilliant – I really want to go back out and hunt them down! Sadly though, it seems two of them have been vandalised 😦

      I don’t think it is my running shoes that are the problem, but my other shoes. Annoyingly though, I think it’s just a flare up from being on my feet nearly all day yesterday. Lots of grr and arghs have ensued today.

  2. Aww I love gromit! I especially love shaun the sheep (I’ve even got a doorstep at my parents’ house from back in the day), am a big fan 🙂 Sad to hear they’ve been vandalised though! Good job on getting out for the park run – I too am unsure about protein shakes – I went through a crazy spree when I bought a massive bag full of vanilla sunwarrior protein powder but I’ve only used it a couple of times… it’s a bit grainy! Never thought about looking at the protein vs. carb content but will be doing that tonight! So yes, if you fancy trying some of the sun warrior then let me know and I can send you a bagful in the post like crack cocaine for fitness junkies 😉 What was in your shake at the smoothie store?

    • My mum actually records Shaun the Sheep (or Timmy Time, not sure which it is) and watches it at the weekends. We are all a bit W&G obsessed in our house, so 5ft Gromits were right up our street! I am definitely going to drag Matt up at some point. Even if he does give me withering looks and eye rolls.

      Yeah, protein shakes are a funny one – I think it’s because you naturally associate them with the mad muscle building men at the gym who hog the weights. I’ve got a couple of samples on order from My Protein (pleased they do the samples, because I hadn’t realised how expensive powders can be). Thanks for the offer of Sunwarrior – maybe we can compare notes! 🙂

      My smoothie was an apple and vanilla smoothie. I lucked out though, because I saw a peanut butter cup one at the last second, but it was too late to change. Boo!

Leave a Reply

