Tub on the Run

Stick a fork in me… I’m done

Leave a comment

I love this advert.  Many years on, I still love this advert, and to coin a phrase – “stick a fork in me, I’m done”.

Spinning was ok tonight.  I didn’t push myself as hard as last week.  It was very warm in the studio, and I ran out of water quite quickly.  I enjoyed it though (though I am regretting asking Steph to play a Pendulum song).

Tea was one of my favourite meals – fajitas.  I received fajita spice in my foodie penpal parcel this time, so we put that to good use.  I did forget to pick up some salsa at Tesco last night, so resolved to make some myself.

In to Tub’s salsa went…

  • 1 (drained) tin of chopped tomatoes
  • half an onion
  • 1 chilli*
  • piquant peppers
  • gherkins
  • pepper
  • garlic
  • splash of Worcestershire sauce
  • splash of balsamic vinegar
  • half a tsp of smoked paprika

I love this – so easy!  Bung everything except the tomatoes in a blender, whizz, add the tomatoes and whizz again (you don’t want it like a paste – lumps are fine!).

For the filling, fry off your meat of choice, along with some more onion, peppers and any other veg and spices/seasoning you want in there and plonk in a bowl.  Instead of sour cream, we used fat free fromage frais (you can always chop in some chives if you fancied it).  Then – load up your tortillas!  From looking online, most tortillas are around 6 syns each, and to be honest, I’m stuffed after two these days (gone are the times where I could polish off four in one sitting).

Safe to say, fajitas are definitely not “first date foods”.  I always get in a state – stuff splashes and inevitably I am licking my arm and chin.  Definitely attractive!

I feel much perkier today – all topped off with some super tasty fajitas.

*I put my chillis in the freezer.  That way, not only do they last longer, but you can handle them, cut them AND not have to worry about chilli finger (chilli finger takes forever to go on me – olive oil, lemon, salt, vinegar, soap… Nothing gets it gone).

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

Leave a Reply

