Tub on the Run

To parkrun or not to parkrun, that was the question

7 Comments

And the answer was yes.

When the alarm went off, I debated whether to get up, get my running gear on, knowing that it was going to be a hot one.  As I started getting too hot in bed, the decision was made for me and I got up (I have a feeling that getting up for parkrun in the winter will be a much more difficult struggle leaving a warm bed).

The weather today has been beautiful.  As suspected, it was a bit warm for running, but I was really pleased with how I went.  I managed to run nearly all of the shady parts (roughly half of the route), breaking in to walk a couple of times – once when I rolled my ankle, and the second was to catch my breath at the top of one of the hills.  When it got to the more exposed part of the course, I felt baked.  It wasn’t that bad, but I did wish I’d taken a bottle of water around with me.

Given the result from last week, where I thought I’d gone quicker, but had actually gone slower, I wasn’t expecting to be much different from last week.  Well, I’m pleased to confirm that I got a PB today!  I broke 40 minutes!

6th july parkrun resultsI was surprised to see the result given the heat.  I’m not going to place too much pressure on myself in terms of beating that, as I feel I have made some progress this week with regards to getting back on an even keel.

While I parkrunned (parkran?), M snapped some more pictures, and I thought I’d include my concession to summer.  I think this might be the first time this year that I’ve painted my toes.

parkrun 6th july

So now, M and I are just about to settle down to watch J. Edgar on DVD.

Happy Saturday all!

 

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

7 thoughts on “To parkrun or not to parkrun, that was the question

  1. That was the question in our house too but the beach won the day, I knew the exposed area by the cows would be too much for madam. Next three weeks I should be there!

    • It was gorgeous yesterday, so can’t blame you! I was surprised Exmouth wasn’t as busy as I’d have expected (usually parking after parkrun is a complete nightmare, but found somewhere really easily yesterday). I’m there next week, then in Cambridge supporting a friend for his duathlon (road trip!), back the following week, then volunteering on 10th August.

  2. Pingback: Walking – 23 | fatness to fitness, our journey

  3. You are most welcome – I want the world to know that unless a parkrun features folk going round in over 35 minutes they are missing out on some of the best people.

    There are many event for speedy fit people but parkrun is an event that lends itself to people of all abilities and levels of fitness.

    • I couldn’t agree more! I find it really well organised, very friendly and supportive. I also like that there’s no pressure. I really need to get back to it, but I have a busy few weeks coming up.

  4. Pingback: Walking in the rain ~TJ35 | fatness to fitness, our journey

Leave a Reply

