Tub on the Run

A hot weather whinge

Leave a comment

One of the things I hate most about being fat, is this weather.  Gorgeous as it is (and I certainly wouldn’t send the sunshine away), the accompanying heat is not very welcome.  I’d like it if we could turn the thermostat down about 5 degrees.  Why?  I am fed up of being sticky and uncomfortable.  I don’t like having to worry about whether my top has got caught under a fat roll and is now sodden with sweat, or how shiny my face has become because I am overheating, or if I shake hands with someone, will I stick to them?  I appreciate some of these issues won’t go away by being thinner, but I am hoping to be a little more comfortable in my own skin.  The Met Office has forecast that this spell will last until mid-August, and I guess I should make the most of it.

I didn’t parkrun on Saturday because it was already so warm by the time we got up at 7:30am.  That was a little silly on my part really, as I have realised that I won’t be back running at parkrun for quite some time.  Over the coming weeks, I am in Cambridgeshire, then have a hen party, then should be marshalling at Castle Combe (though if it is still as hot, I think I’ll be declining), followed by marshalling at parkrun, but I can run it the week after!

Weigh in wise, I lose 1lb this week, which is perfectly ok with me.  Our group discussion was full of people going on about how saintly they are in getting all their fruit and salads in (though interesting to note, we didn’t have a Slimmer of the Week).  Honestly?  I go off the boil on fruit and yogurt.  I just don’t want either.  Damn it, I want ice cream.  Ben and Jerry’s Peanut Butter Me Up or Oh My Apply Pie if I have the option to choose.  I have to admit that I kind of zoned out mid-discussion.  We did, however, get fed.  I love going to a fat club and getting fed.  It was a “bring your own Slimming World friendly quiche”.  I didn’t take any, as the last time I did, no one ate it (and for good reason – it was foul).  I now leave it to the more experienced cooks.  When Slimming World asks me to bring in a triple chocolate brownie, I shall oblige, because I rock at baking those.

I’ve got to go to the dreaded Thursday group to weigh in next week, I have to grace the North with my presence for work and won’t be back in time.  I don’t really click with the Thursday group, so I won’t be staying.  Weigh and go for me!  Annoyingly, because we’re away at the weekend and then I’m off for work and staying in a hotel on Monday night, I don’t think my food choices will be amazing.  However, I will make myself think twice before ordering the cheese laden dish with sweet potato fries, followed by pudding (usually some sort of apple tart), washed down with a couple of glasses of rose or a vodka mix.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

Leave a Reply

