Tub on the Run

I’m on a roll!

10 Comments

I am on a roll.  For the first time in a very long time, I actually feel motivated and good to be on plan.  I don’t know exactly which switch was flicked, and there certainly wasn’t an epiphany.  After my weigh in on Tuesday (less said about that, the better my 1lb gain, taking me to 16st 7lbs), I went out for a meal with H and G.  M did the shopping while I was out (his choice – I didn’t force him to stay home!), and from there, things have just slotted into place.

Of course, I’m not professing to have been a complete fat fighting saint, but I am much more on track than I have felt for a long time.  My sneaky peek weigh ins have shown a loss already, and I am really pleased with that.  Now, of course, the general advice is not to look at the scales on a daily basis.  Shock, horror, I have!  I have indeed, and I have been buoyed by the results so far.  I say, if it works for you, do it.  There are weeks where I don’t weigh in daily, and I never “count” my midweek weigh ins – it’s all about the weekly Tuesday “official” one for me.

While I’m riding high on my gut busting wave, what things I am loving this week?

  • Nakd bars.  M picked up a bar a day for me when he went shopping.  Ever since Kit at What a Peach sent me my first Nakd bar in my first Foodie Penpals parcel, I have been a complete convert.  Don’t get me wrong, they’re not the most Slimming World friendly (syns are below), but they’re definitely better than the alternative (the chocolate bar).  A good review of a few bars is available on Caroline Makes.  I have actually ordered four boxes of these bars, as there’s a 4 for the price of 3 deal on at the moment (which makes them roughly 46p).

IMG-20130802-00188

Bar (30g or 35g) Syns on Extra Easy
Apple Pie 5
Banana Bread Cereal Bar 4.5
Berry Cheeky 5
Berry Delight 6.5
Caffe Mocha 6.5
Cashew Cookie 7
Cocoa Delight 7
Cocoa Mint 6.5
Cocoa Orange 7.5
Ginger Bread 8
Pecan Pie 8
Rhubarb and Custard 6.5
  • Lasagne.  Yeah, my life wouldn’t be complete without a slice of lasagne.  This week, M and I adapted our usual lasagne recipe, forgot the carrot (by accident, not design), and added in some Worcestershire sauce and balsamic vinegar.  For some reason it came out really juicy, to the point of having to drain off some of the excess.  Did we throw all of those lovely flavours away?  Did we heck!  Having suitable strained it, I popped it in the fridge and used it to soak our couscous meal in.
  • Couscous.  I love couscous.  Sadly, M shares the same opinion as a work colleague (couscous is apparently for hemp wearing hippies…  Yep, I’m a hemp wearing hippy apparently.  I disguise it well).  However, he will eat it, begrudgingly and on occasion.  Recipe was basically couscous soaked in the leftover lasagne juices with courgette, red onion, red and yellow peppers which were roasted (Tesco do a good veg pack for about £1.50).  To finish, I crumbled my Healthy Extra “A” of feta into the mix, et voila!

IMG-20130804-00191

  • The photos from Orange Cat Photography (see here for one of the photos, or visit her website).  I am not where I want to be in terms of weight loss, but I have taken real satisfaction from seeing some of these photos.

We made enough couscous for lunch yesterday.  We were marshalling at Castle Combe, the first time we’ve been marshalling for months.  Our motorsport calendar has never been so quiet!  Normally, I find sticking to plan and marshalling to be a relatively difficult task (marshals are notorious for their love of pastry based products, biscuits, chocolate and burgers), and it is often made worse by camping.  However, we stayed at a local Travelodge (for £20, you can’t go too wrong!) and that made the food aspect a little easier.  I was pretty hungry by the time I got home at 8:30pm, but I ticked off another day on plan.

I came home to look after Beany (Floss, my parents’ dog).  She’s getting a bit old now and likes the company.  Dad was out with his band, so Bean and I had a nice evening watching Spartacus.  M stayed with his family for the evening, as he is in Northamptonshire on Monday, so it didn’t make sense to pile a load more miles on the car.

For tea tonight?  I’m cooking gammon and roasties for Dad.  Another on plan meal ticked off.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

10 thoughts on “I’m on a roll!

  1. I love Nakd bars, the one with rhubarb is lovely!
    Have you tried bulghur wheat and quinoa? I have them quite often, to mix things up when I get fed up with cous cous!

  2. So happy you’re feeling on track!! Congrats!! That is always such a good feeling 🙂

  3. Mm the cashew cookie nakd bar is so good – I used to have them as a mid-morning snack for months at work (turned out to be an expensive habit 😉 ). Even though they may be higher in calories, I find they are more satisfying in keeping me full rather than those mostly-air cereal/health bars you can get 🙂 the chocolate orange one is pretty yum too! (and I want to try the ‘crunch’ range too!). Glad to hear you are on track, hooray!

    • Thanks Lucy 🙂 Yeah, I like the cashew one. I have to admit I’m not 100% sold on all of the crunch range. It definitely is expensive, and I was pleased to find the offer on their website, which definitely makes it more bearable 🙂 They should arrive tomorrow

  4. Hello 🙂 I found your blog while surfing the net (as you do, clicking on this link and that…)- I love it when I find another UK runner/blogger as so many blogs are from the US.
    I love Nakd bars too- especially the cocoa mint ones, or the new crunch ones are good too.

    • Hi! You’re a girl after my own heart – that’s how I find a lot of the blogs I enjoy reading – just surfing through other people’s blog rolls. I haven’t tried the cocoa mint bars yet, but I have 48 of them arriving tomorrow, so I hope I like them! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

