Tub on the Run

Woman of the Year Nominations

17 Comments

Last week, I had a text from my Slimming World consultant, saying that I had been nominated for Woman of the Year.  What is Woman of the Year?  It is about the people who have provided the most inspiration to the group, voted by the members of the group.  I was voted last year, when I had only (relatively recently) joined my current group.  I was unprepared for it last year, and to be fair, I hadn’t really lost that much weight (given I dithered a lot with my weight loss last year).

I was touched to be nominated again this year, and I felt more positive about the whole experience.  I was also a bit more prepared.  The consultant likes you to bring in things to highlight your weight loss.  Frustratingly, despite being nearly 3 stone lighter, there isn’t too much change in terms of dress size (which partly leads me to believe that I may have crept into a size 24, but squeezed myself into a size 22).  Anyway, what is obvious to me, is that you can see my eyes better, I’m not as pudgy faced.  This is the collage that I took with me:

Woman of the Year

I enjoyed the evening, as it is always nice to hear recaps of other peoples’ stories that can get glossed over week on week.  I find my group to be a really friendly, welcoming and inspiring place to be, and there have been some amazing losses (my friend H has lost over 5 stone, and G has lost 4.5 stone).  H was nominated and won, which was really great – she’s a real inspiration to anyone who doesn’t think they can do it.

I weighed in last night and lost 1.5lbs.  I am a little bit out of sync with it, and I thought I’d put weight on.  I really need to have a look in my booklet to see what I actually weigh.

I had planned to get out for a run this week, but it’s a really busy week again (Monday was shopping, Tuesday was Slimming World, tonight I had my eyebrows done and started packing for the weekend, tomorrow I’m in late for work, and Friday we’re off to Silverstone).  Yes, I could get up early, but I am trying to get into a good bedtime routine before I start messing around with my wake up time.  I am definitely benefitting from attempting a proper routine.  Ultimately, I know that I really do have to make the time to go for a run, and I need to remember that it is just half an hour to 40 minutes.  Next week is looking a lot clearer, so I will definitely be able to get out for a few runs.

Organisation wise, I’m doing well.  I made tonight’s tea last night (in part because I forgot I’d defrosted some chicken and we hadn’t planned on chicken last night).  Meals are planned for the rest of the week, and at the moment, I’m not fighting the constant urge to stray and seek high fat/sugar foods (though I have gone off chocolate a bit).  I feel much more rested and comfortable with where I am at the moment (certainly in comparison to the last few weeks).

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

17 thoughts on “Woman of the Year Nominations

  1. What a sweet way to be recognized. I think it’s awesome that your community felt you had empowered them and wanted to mention your amazing success. Congratulations on the amazing venture!

  2. Congratulations on your nomination, and on how far you have come! Having lost 3 stone last year, every day is still a battle against gaining weight and changing my mindset about food and about myself: every hour, day, week that you stay on track is a WIN! Well done!

    • Well done on losing 3 stone! That’s great 🙂 I am also trying to take the day by day, meal by meal approach to choices at the moment – it’s a learning process isn’t it!

      Thank you 🙂

  3. Well done for being nominated two years running! What a lovely gesture from your group! A loss of nearly 3 stone is fantastic as well as being classed as so inspiring to others. 🙂

    • Thank you Mary 🙂 I have to admit, I don’t think I’m all that inspiring (especially as I’m struggling at the moment), but it was lovely to be nominated.

  4. Congrats on your nomination 🙂 Love the collage you took – I can see a great difference from 2011 to July 2012. You are gorgeous, and look so happy. Well done on the 3 stone loss, that’s fantastic 🙂

  5. Congrats! This is awesome!! You look beautiful!

  6. Well done, keep inspiring

  7. Pingback: Gromits, Birthdays and Hangovers | Tub on the Run

  8. Sorry to have missed the opportunity to say hello at Killerton the other week. Hope you’re feeling better now. Well done on this nomination Malarkey 🙂

Leave a Reply

