Tub on the Run

Weigh in and on to Week 5

7 Comments

I am beginning to notice a bit of a trend with my weigh ins – I have a really good week (like last week), and then I have a less good week, like today.  I put 1lb on this week.  To be honest, with all the upheaval and the (seemingly temporary) reappearance of that black dog, I haven’t really been too focused on my food.  1lb on isn’t going to “break the bank”, and I’m confident that within a couple of weeks, I’ll be down to my new stone zone (well, it’s not technically brand new, but it’ll be new on this side of summer).

In other news, I disappear off out on my run after work this evening, and “explored” another new route.  It isn’t really new, to be honest, as I used to ride the horse around there (she is stabled there still), but I’ve never run it before.  I am pleased with myself actually, because it isn’t the flattest route in the world:

Exe View Lane

See!  Look how steep that is!  Now, don’t get me wrong, I was hardly Mo Farah in terms of speed.  In fact, I may even have been able to walk faster, but importantly, I kept a semblance of running going.  That is now Week 5, Run 1 completed and ticked off my list.  Now, I think I may have to juggle the diary a little bit this week, as I would have planned to parkrun on Saturday morning, but that isn’t possible this week.  Instead, I think I may run on Sunday morning in Cyprus.  Who knows.

On a slight tangent, I was sat in one of our director’s offices this afternoon, and I was looking around his office, I spied a quote on one of his whiteboards that really struck a chord with me, and I shall leave you on that thought:

Don’t be surprised at the results you didn’t get for the work you didn’t do

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

7 thoughts on “Weigh in and on to Week 5

  1. similar sentiment to the quote – insanity being expecting different results while do the things

  2. I think that quote it is really about personally accountability and taking responsibility – it pops up all over the place in many different things I find that resonate with me. Where as “buying” access or “things” from a guru or source is a warning bell for me!

    Perhaps finding and using tools and resources and keeping a big picture perspective is good – I am in the midst of a Chimp fest – but Steve Peters’s stuff does not touch on time management or physical fitness as individual issues but for personal achievement and a wide overview of communication it is outstanding. It is a system that requires work and practice not a magic bullet type solution!

  3. Good luck on week 5. It’s an awesome week. I think it’s the most initimidating because it’s the biggest leap but it’s also the most rewarding because it’s always the one no one thinks they can get through and then they do. Great quote too, thank you for sharing it.

    • Thanks 🙂 I have to admit, I didn’t struggle with Week 5 the first time round, and I’m hoping I won’t have too much of an issue now. It’s one of those weeks where I think I’ll be fine so long as I don’t over think (and obsess about) it.

      Thank you for commenting 🙂

  4. I agree – same thing happens… REALLY good, then not so good 😦 I totally feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

