Tub on the Run

A goal

20 Comments

When I started running this year, right at the fore of my mind was my three or four failed attempts at trying to get in to running.  In the past, I would start running, pick a race (typically a Race for Life or Exeter’s Santa Run), and pressure myself to get to a magical milestone in time for the race.  I never stuck with it.  I don’t know whether it was the pressure I put myself under, eventually giving in to crippling self-doubt, or whether I just didn’t suit the plan I was using.  I suspect it was a combination of both.  For a long time, before I’d heard of Couch to 5k, I used Running Made Easy‘s “60 Second Secret Plan”.

20131006_123919

This is pretty much the same as C25K, but the big difference for me, and what I think I struggled with, was having to keep track of the time myself.  I would constantly be looking at my watch instead of focusing on running, willing the seconds to pass quicker.  C25K, of course, being a podcast, tells you when to start and stop so you don’t have to worry about the timing.  Yeah the music is a bit odd, but I’d rather that than have to work it out myself.

Armed with Couch to 5k, my kit and some enthusiasm, I headed out at the end of January.  I ignored the conventional wisdom pumped out by the running magazines – sign up for your first race so that you have a goal.  I didn’t want to.  I wanted my running to be more of a regular thing than I had managed in the past, and I thought that would be counter-productive.  I focused on being able to get to Week 9 of C25K.  I then started a 10k plan.  I fell off the wagon, attempted to climb back on, and then slipped off again.

A shift happened, and I started looking around for 10k races.  I feel that I am ready to take on that kind of challenge now.  I know I can do 5k (ok, not quickly, but I can), and I’ve really enjoyed my parkruns, but I want to look at the next stage.

Where am I now, in terms of my running and fitness?  I’m not in my best place.  I’m heavier than I’d like to be still, and I have struggled with Slimming World lately.  I’ve missed 2 weeks, and had booked holiday for one, so it’ll have been 4 weeks this week since I last showed my face.  I haven’t progressed with C25K after coming back from Cyprus.  I would roll out my list of excuses, but I need to be more proactive – running is good for my body and my mental state, and I am going to need to take better care of both, especially over the next few weeks.  Work is ramping up quickly, and I feel like time is quickly trickling away before the wedding now.  Running will help me deal with this.

With all of this in mind, I looked for winter 10ks.  I settled on Weston Athletics Club’s Christmas Cracker 10k.  I’d read good things about it on the Runners World event review (back in the day, when I was a subscriber), and it is conveniently in Weston-Super-Mare, where I can kill two birds with one stone – run, and drop off Christmas presents for the in-laws (maybe even get fed with mother-in-law’s amazing moussaka after the run).  Sunday 15th December will see me huffing and puffing my way along the beach (I’ll need to get some sand running in on a couple of runs) and back along the tarmac, all for a t-shirt and mince pie.  Father-in-law is also running it, but I don’t think we’ll be running together, given he’s an 8 minute miler, and I’m 14 at the moment.

My plan?  Back to Hal Higdon’s 10k plan.  I made it up to 4 miles on the plan earlier in the summer, and I enjoyed the shift in focus on to distance rather than time.  I’ve popped the runs in my diary, having tweaked it around a bit so that I can get parkruns on Saturday in and make it to Slimming World.  I’m starting the plan a little bit before (it’s an 8 week plan, and I’m starting at 9 weeks before), so I plan to break myself in on Week 1 this coming week, and repeat it the week after.

Now, one thing is that fancy dress is optional, tinsel is mandatory.  Any dress-up ideas (which was free or cheap – it is nearly Christmas!) would be most appreciated!

Tub on the Run, disguised as Father Christmas :D

Tub on the Run, disguised as Father Christmas 😀

I won’t wear a beard though.  I wore a beard for the Santa run, and ended up breathing a lot of it in.  I guess that’s why you don’t see too many beardy runners…

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

20 thoughts on “A goal

  1. As a bearded runner myself, I would say that it’s all about keeping it under close control. Too wispy and you’re bound to end up swallowing some!

  2. Thanks for the link to the training plan! I’m looking for one so that’s great stuff 🙂

  3. For a plit second there I considered joining you at Weston then you mentioned fancy dress (dont do that) and tinsel (hate tinsel) guess I will have to look for another run to do! Hope to see you at Killeeton soon

  4. Ok try split second I must check before sending!

  5. Sounds like a fun race! You could do ribbons and bows, like a present 🙂

  6. Really tempted to give that plan a go – thanks for the link!

  7. Love the santa outfit Steph, you look so happy hehe! The 10k plan looks pretty sound – from looking at them I followed something similar to the intermediate and it did the trick so I can’t complain 🙂 I think it’s great that you’re setting yourself goals, I’m unsure if I should do something similar as winter tends to be the time I stick it out in the gym instead, but it would be a shame to stop running altogether!

    • Haha! Thank you, it was good fun getting dressed up for that, thougy sadly I didn’t enjoy the actual run too much.

      You have done so well making the transition outdoors it would be a shame to head back inside completely. Maybe you could compromise with a bit of both? Longer weekend runs outdoors? You have plenty of beautiful parks to run round 🙂

  8. What about a reindeer? You would just need a hairband with antlers (from Claire’s or something) and then brown coloured clothes. Maybe a tail? Do they have tails?
    I have signed up to do a Jingle Bell Jog, which is a 5k, but they give you a santa suit to wear- not really looking forward to that! The children’s one is a reindeer run and they get to wear antlers- I would rather have done that but adults can’t!

    • Beware the beard on a Santa suit. Also, the cheapy one I wore left bobbles on the thighs (you won’t have this problem if your thighs don’t rub though!). I actually have a pair of antlers. Another good option!

  9. Congrats on signing up! Can’t wait to hear how you progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

