Tub on the Run

Getting back into it

12 Comments

As we drove home from work, I uttered the usual words… “I don’t want to go on my run tonight”.  The truth is, I rarely want to go on my runs when I’m about an hour or so away from lacing up and going out.  I am fine in the lead up to the run, but it is that pesky one hour before.  I have twigged that I tend to do this, so I had primed M to make sure he kicked my bum out the door.

By the time we actually got home, I wasn’t feeling too bad about it.  I’d mentally mapped out where my capri pants, t-shirt, sports bra, socks and Garmin were.  I’d also given some thought to where my Slimming World stuff was (it’s been a while since I needed it!).  When I got in, I changed, cleaned the cat litter out, packed my bag for Slimming World (card, book, water, money), and said good bye to Matt.

I had decided last week that my 2 mile run would always be on a Tuesday, and it would be my old stomping ground of a beach circuit.

Hal Higdon - 10k Novice plan

Hal Higdon – 10k Novice plan

I may tweak that run to include some beach running once I’ve got my groove properly back on.

I walked my warm up, breaking into a run as soon as my Garmin locked on to a satellite.  I had my music on, and quickly realised that my pace was quite a bit quicker than a lot of the songs I had on my playlist.  That was quite gratifying.  I lip synced my way through the first mile, trying hard to slow my pace down to the beat.  It helped me concentrate on something other than my increasingly burning lungs and leg muscles.  Just before the end of the first mile, I broke to a walk, and promised myself that I would only walk for that song.

I did exactly that.  My second mile was slower, but I ran it to the end, which I was really pleased about.  I know it’s October and all, but I was surprised how dark it is getting in the evenings (I don’t think you notice it so much when you’re indoors), and I am grateful for the renewed peacefulness along the beach.  Don’t get me wrong, I know how important tourists are for our local economy, but boy am I glad when the summer is over and normality can reign supreme once again.

I picked up my Slimming World bag, and headed off to my group, where the verdict after 4 weeks’ absence was a 4lb gain.  I am pleased with that.  I have come away with a food diary to complete, confident that I am going to have a good 6 days on plan (1 day off for my hen party on Saturday).

After I came home and had eaten tea, I uploaded my run onto Garmin Connect, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that I actually ran my run today at my fastest average pace so far.  I’m not breaking records, but I’ve hit a 12:52 average pace, compared with the next quickest at 14:45.

I’ve now to got to map out my next run.  I’ve decided that I’ll stick to the roads for the 2 miler, then parkrun (or trails if I can’t get to parkrun) for the 3 milers (which will start being the longest runs, and then become the middle runs), and keep on the roads for the longer runs, as I will probably be doing these on a week night.  I think that’s a good plan.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

12 thoughts on “Getting back into it

  1. Depending where your parkrun is, you can also extend this into a longer run by running to it, round it and back or by adding extra miles before or after to make the most of the park.

  2. Welcome back to the joys of running 🙂

  3. Woohoo! Great job on getting out there and getting it done. I often find that the hardest part is getting ready to go, once I’m out there I’m pleased that I did it. The little phrase “the only workout you regret is the one you don’t do” is so true, very rarely do I think, man I wish I didn’t do that run! Great job again!

  4. Great job on your run times!! I wish I had the pre-run problems instead of the during…lol…I love the time leading up to a run, hate myself sometimes when running, and love myself again after. The before and after feeling is enough to keep me coming back for more. Again- great job and keep at it!

  5. I feel like that sometimes- when I am driving home from work and it is getting dark all I fancy is a cup of tea on the sofa, but usually once I get out the fresh air makes me feel loads better 🙂

    • Same here! The allure of a cuppa is a strong reason for staying in! But it is an even better post-run thing (or at least that is what I tell myself!). Thank you 🙂

  6. Pingback: Slimming World Breakfast Tub - The Good Mother Project

Leave a Reply

