Tub on the Run

Sunday night and Blog Block

9 Comments

I have tried to write this post about six times now, and nothing is flowing.  M has diagnosed it as Blog Block.  Apologies, therefore, for the probable rambling, jumbled-upness of this post.  I shall, however, try to break it into some logical chunks (“try” being the operative word there).

Food

I bunked off Slimming World again this week.  I know it’s been a bad food week when I don’t want to go to church Group and confess my sins syns, and believe me, there have been many.  How many?  I have no idea.  That’s another tell tale sign – I don’t count because I know it’s bad.  Well, my body is now beginning to demand a better quality fuel.  After weeks (months?) of feeding it rubbish, it’s now getting all grumbly and gripey and, to be honest, it isn’t much fun.  This is coming from the person who prides herself on owning a cast iron tummy, the girl who can eat out of date food, or that which has been undercooked, and not feel the effects while those around her are actively seeking out the nearest toilet.

Well, so long high fat/sugar food.  It’s been, ummm, unhealthy (both physically and mentally).

Normally, I blindly choose meals based on what we have left over in the veggies department from last week, paying no heed to what I’m actually doing in the week.  This week is different.  I know I am going to be late home a couple of nights.  I know this is a danger zone, where I will default to takeaway because “I haven’t got enough time/energy/other poor excuse to cook”.  The slow cooker is my greatest ally in this particular battle.  The other thing?  Oh, well, there isn’t enough leftovers to use for lunch tomorrow, so I’ll just buy from the canteen.  That is expensive.  It’s also quite unhealthy, as while I may have the intention of having a jacket spud with beans and salad, I may add a flapjack on to that, or change my mind entirely to a cheese and onion pasty.  To combat this, I first need to buy some new batteries for my scales – I can’t measure anything out at the moment (unless it is a liquid).  This means that then, I’ll be able to use my breadmaker that I got for Christmas, but haven’t actually used yet.  That means that sandwiches with cheese and tomato, or ham, or whatever, is now a default option where there may not be enough leftovers.

That’s my week planned for food.

Running

I would like to say that Week 1 of my 10k plan got off to a cracking start, but it has been more like a crappy start.  The stupid thing is that I know that if I feel low, going out for a run will help.  I’ve literally just come back from a run and I feel like I’m about to die from exploding lungs better than before I went out.  The hardest part is actually getting out the door.  As I started writing this post at 8pm, I thought I really should go out for a run.  I haven’t been out and made one run this week.  How can I talk about running if I haven’t actually been running.  Sometimes, like this evening, I can just tell myself that I am going out, and there is no internal argument.  Other times, there’s an almighty furore in my brain that absolutely refuses to get changed and go out.

This evening’s run was 3 miles.  The longest run on Week 1’s plan.  I shall crack on with Week 2 on Tuesday, Thursday (or Friday) and Saturday (watch out parkrun – I may come out to play!).  I didn’t set any records unfortunately, but I am quite pleased with my 41:27 5k given that I haven’t run regularly for what feels like forever.

One thing I have learnt this evening is that it most definitely is not time to crack the base layer out.  I thought I might get chilly, what with it being autumn and all, but no, a t-shirt is more than sufficient still.  According to the Garmin, it was 14°c, so maybe I’ll reintroduce the base layer when we hit 10°c and see how I go then.

On that note, I’m off for a shower because I am sweaty and smelly.  All round delightful!

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

9 thoughts on “Sunday night and Blog Block

  1. Good luck… Now you just have to remember to use the bread maker (and don’t forget to put the mixing paddles in… You’ll do it..at some point…you’ll do it…and when you do, you’ll remember I told you).

    • There are mixing paddles? I haven’t actually looked inside it yet (I am a bad daughter!). I must remember to pick up some breadmaker friendly yeast from Tesco now I think about it.

  2. Aww hang in there! I too get writer’s block. But you survived through. And plus YOUR WEDDING is going to be here soon. I mean come on… you’re in the final stretch! I think you’re allowed to eat not quite as perfectly, not run quite as perfectly, and not blog quite as perfectly. It’s a BRILLIANT excuse (and true reason!).

  3. Hey well done on getting out in the evening, something I can rarely bring myself to do

    • See I am better in the evenings than the mornings, but that could be because that would mean I would need to leave the house at 5:30am to do that and get to work on time.

  4. Having a plan is half the battle 🙂
    I agree with the base layer- I went out in a t-shirt today and thought I might be cold, but after 5 mins I was boiling!

  5. I hear you re: getting out of the door is the hardest part – especially when it’s dark (plus/minus rain) and all I want to do is sit on the couch. But you’re right, the feeling of satisfaction afterwards is SO worth it! I too thought it was time for the base layer – bad idea, had to strip off mid run! It’s nice though to still be able to wear tanks and tees for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

