Tub on the Run

New stone zone

3 Comments

Yes, I achieved a new stone zone.  Unfortunately it was of the wrong kind.  Yep, I’ve gone UP into the next stone bracket.

Am I really too worried?  No.  6.5lbs on last week and 1.5lbs on this week is pretty spectacular as a couple of gains, but it hasn’t exactly been a normal couple of weeks, has it?  As our honeymoon ended, I began to crave clean, non-fatty, non-sugary foods.

Craving clean food

I did quite well on the weekend.  I even cracked out the Le Creuset casserole pot to do a pulled pork with veggies (4 syns for each serving, and so filling).  I was quite pleased.  Then I went back to work, and my resolve quickly did a u-turn and headed out the door.  My colleague is leaving this week, so it’s been a complete cake-fest in the office.  I started off quite well, and then ended up nose diving into the bag of cake, barely emerging for breath.  The worst thing is that it is completely mindless eating.  I’m not hungry and I don’t need the sugar.  A Viennese Whirl (Mr Kipling’s variety) is 7 syns a go, and I polished off three in as many minutes.  Then I had various other cakes in addition.  Not an overwhelming success back into the Slimming World way of life I think it is safe to say.

My downfall at the moment is planning (or not as the case may be) and sticking to the plan.  I didn’t know that there were going to be cakes (as she leaves on Wednesday, I knew we’d have cake on Wednesday, but not Monday and Tuesday too).  I should have known, as she has a sweeter tooth than me.  I know that tomorrow, there will be more cakes, and so I must take fruit as an alternative.  I am also going to keep a food diary to hold myself accountable.

Running wise, I must get out and build my miles up, as the Weston Christmas Cracker is in five weeks.  I’m going to take it even slower than usual, given that I currently weigh quite a bit more (nearly 10lbs more) than I did last time I went out.  I don’t want to stress myself out, and on my long runs, I’m more concerned with being able to cover the distance than the speed in which I cover it.

It is back to business as usual now, and while I am a bit peeved to have put on so much weight in such a short space of time, I can’t waste energy on dwelling, but need to use it to move forward and plan and avoid the distractions.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

3 thoughts on “New stone zone

  1. Cakes at the office are so hard. Is there somewhere you can sit away from them? Ours are always put on the table, but we have other chairs in the staffroom too, so I sit on the chairs away from the table and then I don’t get tempted as they are not within easy reach. Also I love some nice herbal tea- peppermint tea is sweet tasting, and also once you have had some you can’t eat anything else as the flavours don’t go.
    Good luck with your running too – covering the distance is the main thing so you have the right attitude.

    • Thanks Maria! Unfortunately the office is quite small so there is no getting away from them. I drink Twinings buttermint tea now but I might see if I have any normal peppermint about. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Pingback: So far, so good | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

