Tub on the Run

Janathon Day 1: Hoping that we haven’t started as we mean to go on

19 Comments

Not sure what this Janathon thing, gracing WordPress, Blogger and Twitter is?  Go check out the Janathon page.  In short, it’s running (or exercising) and blogging about it every day in January.

I made it out today.  The boring stats bit is:

Janathon Day 1

I sincerely hope that I have not started as I mean to go on.  It was probably one of the least enjoyable runs I have done for a long time.  And the slowest.

I had decided that if I didn’t get out of bed and do the run, and instead put it off to tonight, I wouldn’t actually go out and I will have failed Janathon at the first hurdle.  I dragged my weary carcass out of bed (only having got to bed at 2:30am, having consumed probably a bit too much gin and vodka), debated whether it wass cold enough for a base layer (no is the answer), but having heard the rain, I decided that a coat was a good addition.

What I hadn’t noticed from the comfort of indoors was that, not only was it raining, but it was blowing a hoolie.  I have probably mentioned before that I don’t mind the rain, but I struggle with the wind.  To be frank, running without wind is hard enough, but add some blustery weather and it turns into a resistance workout.  Today was probably the worst wind I have run in.  Within 3 minutes of being outdoors, I was soaked to the bone.  And cold.

I had a sneaking suspicion that my tummy was going to find the run equally as challenging, and so I chose a hillier route that normal, but one with a toilet about 1.5 miles in.  I have never been so pleased to see a public toilet!  Ah the joys of post night time drinking runs.

The whole run was a struggle.  My legs got so cold that I wasn’t sure if they were going to cooperate as I reached mile 2, and my coat was as wet inside as it was out.  Damn you gym, why couldn’t you have been open today!?

20140101_105612

Surprisingly, the beach wasn’t as bad as the non-beach part of the run.

Well, I am home now, showered and plied with tea to bring some warmth.

So today’s lesson is that when the conditions are like today, the gym is a suitable alternative.  Even the dreadmill holds more appeal.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

19 thoughts on “Janathon Day 1: Hoping that we haven’t started as we mean to go on

  1. Getting out there when you really don’t want to is what it’s all about – well done!

  2. Well done for getting out there. The weather is horrid today. I can not imagine what it must have felt like running in that! Looking forward to reading about the rest of your Janathon

  3. Well done for getting out!!

  4. Well done you I was out in that also! 3.5 miles is amazing in those conditions. Tomorrow is meant to be nicer but same again for Friday! x

  5. I shall venture to the quagmire that is Killerton, very sensible to stay away!

  6. A beach run would be hard work any day!

  7. Well done Steph! – You did much better than me..All I did was layer wellies and a raincoat and walk!!! & Who cares about pace..you where running with a hangover *high five!*

  8. Well done for getting out there- I am not surprised you found it tough, I agree wind is the worst to run in.
    Fancy joining in with Jantastic? (www.Jantastic.me) You pledge your runs per week and log them (I have set up a team- run blog bake- all welcome)- it goes on for 3 months and you pledge how many runs you will do per week (eg 3) and log them. Anyway, more on the website if you fancy having a look.

Leave a Reply

