Tub on the Run

Janathon Day 4: I have little to no core strength

7 Comments

Today’s Janathon was brought to you by a bad form pyjama plank:

Bad Form Plank

19 whole seconds on a bad form pyjama plank.  I really am woeful at things like planking, and I have never successfully done a side plank without crumpling in a heap literally one second in.  As with all things though – practice makes perfect.  Core strength is one of those funny things for me.  When I first started at a gym, back in my first year at university, the focus was entirely on cardio.  There was very little focus on weight training and virtually none on core strength.  The only memorable exception was when I dabbled in a little bit of kickboxing where there was a focus on sit ups.  Even at the gym I go to now, there is a token nod towards floor work but the main exercises are predominantly done on the machines, whether they be weights or cardio.  Sure, there are classes like Tums, Bums and Thighs, the myriad of Les Mills classes and Zumba, but I have typically felt intimidated by joining anything dedicated to core work, as mine really is poor.  Yes, I know, going would make it less so.  I feel like a bit of a latecomer to core work really.

Anyway, the alternative to a pyjama plank would have been parkrun.  I didn’t get up in time for it though.  It’s probably a good thing and a welcome respite for my trainers, as it has got progressively muddier each time I have been lately.  I am looking forward to the spring when the course has had a bit of a chance to dry out a bit.

I have no run planned for today, as tomorrow is my long run (5 whole miles, undoubtedly in the rain!).  I am meant to cross train for 40 minutes, but I am struggling to think of anything to do other than go for a walk.  I need to get some things from town, so that may not be the worst option.

Sadly today really does mark the end of the holidays.  My sister is going back home, I am cracking on with the washing like a trojan and that means that all the work clothes will need ironing, all of the holiday stuff has been put away, and my work-related anxiety is beginning to set back in.  Well, it was a lovely couple of weeks off, and M and I now need to sit down to work out what we’re going to do for time off in 2014.

 

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

7 thoughts on “Janathon Day 4: I have little to no core strength

  1. Best make that late spring for Parkrun return judging by the conditions today at killerton unless you fancy a trip to the new one on Cornwall?

  2. Good for you with your plank&i think you did fab!…I am the same with the plank I can barely hold 20seconds! I attended legs, bums&tums and the teacher asked if I’d had children as my core was/is so weak. I felt it was offensive to parents (I’m not) and had to explain that up untill aged 24 I was obese and I think this counts towards my weak core..But it really upset me! As a fellow late comer I feel 2014 is when we can get lovely strong cores 🙂

    • It is very good to know that I am not the only one! What a horrible thing of that instructor to say to anyone! That is most definitely not the way to get people to keep attending a class.

      Bring on The Year of the Core 🙂

  3. Booo for end of hols. I work part-time and my wife’s a teacher, so during school hols we’re all off together for the second half of the week and it’s wonderful.

  4. I’ve never done a plank and I think of my ‘core’ as being the expensive ice-cream when I go to the cinema. At the same time, I know people who can’t go a day without spinning (which I’d assumed was involved in the manufacture of wool, but apparently not) and who think nothing of cycling miles on a bike in a room which doesn’t go anywhere.

    I reckon you do what works for you, and give yourself a thumbs up every time you do something you didn’t need to do (running while being chased by big dogs, for example, doesn’t really count).

    Rock on, sounds like you’re doing good.

Leave a Reply

