Tub on the Run

Janathon Day 12: The Long Run

24 Comments

In the middle of my funk last night, I posted to Twitter that I am struggling.

Tweet

I can feel self-sabotage brewing.  I have never run as much as I am now, and while I really do feel like I am beginning to make some progress (my heart rate average is lowering, though my average pace is staying relatively stable), I am beginning to wonder whether I can really do 13.1 miles.  Thirteen point one miles is a very long distance for me (and for most people I would imagine).  I don’t want to fail, but I almost feel that it is inevitable.  I’ve tried getting into running so many times, and my consistency requires more work.

I genuinely hadn’t intended the tweet to be seeking pity or anything, but I was genuinely touched by the response I had.  It was reassuring to know that most people will feel the same at one point or another.

So this morning, I scoffed some porridge, waited an hour, faffed around a bit, tried to find some clean workout clothes, eventually found them, stepped outside and faffed a bit more whilst waiting for my Garmin to sync.

A couple of minutes later, off I toddled.  6 miles on the plan, but I needed to do just over to get my 10k recorded for my Virtual Runner race.  I chose to go from home to Darts Farm, which turns out to be around 6 miles.  It was a mildly undulating route.  Unfortunately I didn’t break my 10k record, but it was relatively close.  I probably would have done it, but for getting stuck behind some walkers and their dogs.

One thing I am beginning to find is that my heart rate is coming down, but the perceived effort seems to be getting harder.  I don’t know why that is, but I really flag in how I feel towards the end, though this isn’t entirely represented by my pace.

Anyway, I arrived at Darts Farm.

Darts Farm

I took £2 with me so I could get a drink, which I desperately needed by then.  Matt was meant to meet me there, but had got a bit sidetracked.  I busied myself by shopping for my Foodie Penpal (new matches came through!).  We also bought lunch to bring home.  Matt picked me up and home we came.  I plan to spend the rest of the afternoon doing laundry, catching up on the Janathon and Jantastic blogs, and pottering.

Janathon exercise, done.  Jantastic Week 1, done.  10k for Virtual Runner, logged!

Logged for Virtual Runner

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

24 thoughts on “Janathon Day 12: The Long Run

  1. Well done, you! Sorry I missed your tweet last night. I think you’re the same as a lot of us: the mental side of running can be much, much tougher than the physical side if it. You can do it!

  2. Nice going. I think everyone feels like that at some point. Those runs which seem long at the moment, will turn into “just another run”

    • You are spot on! My 4 miles were the long run a few weeks back and now they are my mid run for the week just gone! I will wonder what all my fuss was about in another 4 weeks, I am sure.

  3. Well done knew you would do it now you need to know you can do it!

  4. Good work! And you managed to weave in the word “faffed” too!

  5. Well done! 10K is the longest I have ever run …

  6. Well done. I know you feel like you’re flagging but think back to your first ever run. Since then you’ve come so far

  7. I think ups and downs are a very common part of a training cycle (I know I’ve felt it). Remember that you also said that you are running more than you’ve ever run before. That has to be taking its toll and part of how you are feeling will be the fatigue from that. Keep chipping away and you’ll get there!

    • Thank you. You are right, I need to keep some perspective on what I am doing and how far I have come. It is unreasonable for me just to expect my body to get on with it without complaining when I haven’t done anything like this before.

  8. Well done – I can’t imagine ever being able to do more than my 5k maximum!

  9. You can do this Steph…
    I’m actually really tempted to try the same half (in a none stalkerish way) because it’s actually very local to me..It’s just getting a place and getting into the mind set. See I think it happens to us all..I’m very happy at 6/7miles because my mind tells me ‘this is nice..’ and then I was pretty comfortable holding a reasonable pace up until 10miles but the idea of adding on 3 miles more scares the life out of me..I’ve ran 13.2 miles once (4+ years ago when I was a newish runner and it took me 2.32 and my college said ‘Oh you must have practically walked it then’..I felt so crushed!!!).
    Just keep in mind there’s a whole community of us here to push you along..some days you’ll have to give up and walk (because let’s face it we allll do) and others you’ll run for hours..the main thing is your out there doing it 🙂

    • Your comment made me smile – thank you! Try and get a place! Sounds like there are a few of us UK RunChat which could be quite cool!

      That is really mean of your friend – I would be a gross disappointment as I am going for 3hrs. 🙂

      It is a mental battle for sure and I think I have only really appreciated that this week.

  10. Pingback: Foodie Penpals – January 2014 | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

