Tub on the Run

Janathon Days 16 to 18

12 Comments

Janathon Day 16 consisted of the very exciting:

Janathon Day 16

Janathon Day 17 was slightly more eventful:

Janathon Day 17

That is what you get for pratting around in the car park.  Matt has just pulled up, so I attempted some sort of skip, hop or jump and rolled my ankle on a seam in the tarmac.  And no, my husband did not come to my aid.  As I scraped myself off the floor, he actually asked where I had gone.  The floor.  One rolled ankle, a slightly bruised heel of my hand and a cut on my knee.  Thankfully, I did not put a hole in my work trousers.

Janathon Day 18…

This morning, the swelling in my ankle had gone, it didn’t hurt and so I thought that perhaps I would be ok to run.  I delayed the run by half an hour, waiting for a rain shower to pass through, but once it was dry, I changed and headed out.  I started at a nice pace, and the first half mile felt pretty good.  I then had to stop to negotiate my way past a family (you DO NOT need to walk 8 abreast, people!), and carried on.  I made it up the first hill and my ankle started twinging.  I considered whether it was pain or a niggle and decided on a niggle.  I kept going, passed two ladies and then broke to a walk as my ankle started to hurt.  I tried walking it out for a bit, but no joy.  I attempted another run a little while later that resulted in some limping.  I could feel that my shoe felt a little bit tighter than it had at the beginning, so I imagined that the swelling might have come back.  On the plus side, the two ladies that I passed on my way back smiled and said I was doing really well, which made me smile, so thank you ladies!

I was right about the swelling.  So here I sit, post-shower, with my exercise ball on two yoga blocks with my feet up and a tubi grip on the offending ankle.  Ibuprofen duly taken to help with the swelling and stop the shooting pains.

I had the choice of 3 or 4 miles today, and completing the other tomorrow.  I am going to have to use a joker for Jantastic for this week.  I won’t be running again now until Tuesday, which will hopefully be enough time for my ankle to heal.

Now it is time for a cuppa, catching up on some blogs and reading A Storm of Swords now, while trying to take my mind off the fact that I really doubt whether I’ll be able to complete a half marathon.  It seems an impossible distance – I haven’t run beyond 6 miles yet.  Anyway…  Tyrion has just come back round from his injuries, Davos has just been rescued and Daenerys has just been proposed to.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

12 thoughts on “Janathon Days 16 to 18

  1. Eeek! Hope you’re OK! And I hope you’re enjoying the GOT books….. cannot wait fr the next one, when it EVENTUALLY gets published!

    • I am sure I will be fine, but it has topped off a rather poop week for running and I have to admit, I feel a bit demotivated. I am currently on Storm of Swords (the first of the two) so I am reading Season 3. I have a way to go to catch you up I think! 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear about your ankle. I hope rest, elevation and anti-inflammatories will do the trick.

  3. Sorry to hear this Steph. Bag of peas and RICE. TAKE CARE. xxxx

  4. Poor you, hope your ankle makes a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

