Tub on the Run

Foodie Penpals – January 2014

Leave a comment

It’s my first time back in Foodie Penpals since August 2013.  Thanks go, as always, to Carol Anne at This is Rock Salt for coordinating the European contingent of Foodie Penpals (and also, this month, for the many random emails I have fired off to her!).

My foodie penpals this month were Fikir in Leeds and Bev who blogs over at Eats For Wales.

Fikir gave me quite a wide remit for things to send, which I actually found more difficult that I have first expected.  I’d managed to combine the shopping trip with a long run which ended at Darts Farm.  I love looking around there to see what is new out (they stock a lot of seasonal items), and of course, try a couple of samples.  It is a haven for Foodie Penpal shopping as there is always something unusual, or stuff that you can’t (usually) find in supermarkets.

Foodie Penpals Jan 14

I sent Fikir some Montezuma’s Smooth Milk chocolate.  I love this stuff – my favourite being the lime and chilli milk chocolate (sadly, well, actually it’s probably a good thing, even Darts Farm don’t stock this particular flavour).  I thought the pear, apple and herb chutney would go well with the oatmeal crackers and a good cheese.  Tea’s Me are the only company that make spearmint tea that I can find, having discovered them at the County Show last year.  I haven’t come across a tea of theirs that I don’t like yet, though I haven’t tried this flavour.  Lastly, the rosemary sea salt I thought would be perfect with a squidge of lemon, and sprinkled over fish.

It’s Bev’s first time of Foodie Penpals, and I hope she enjoyed the experience.  She runs a blog over at Eats for Wales, and I really wish that Matt and I had known about her blog before we went to Cardiff as part of our honeymoon.

Bev’s parcel arrived on Thursday this week, so I haven’t had the chance to use all of the things she sent me yet or take any photos in daylight, but I wasted no time in opening the Marks and Spencer’s Anglesey smoked sea salt with chipotle chilli.  I had made a stew with chicken and it was a tad on the bland side (I should have put a chilli in it), but a sprinkling of this sea salt really perked it up.  I thought the chipotle may have been overpowering, but it was subtle and complimented the smoked salt perfectly.  Bev also sent me two other things in packets, but unfortunately I don’t know what they are as I have not come across either before (I will update when I can, as I have asked Bev to let me know what they are).  Finally, I was sent a book of Welsh recipes – plenty to try as the 6 Nations kicks off tomorrow!

Thanks Bev for my parcel this month – I hope that your first month has been good to you.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

Leave a Reply

