Tub on the Run

Giving up Slimming World (for the time being)

15 Comments

I had a great long post dedicated to this, and having reviewed it, it sounded incredibly negative, which wasn’t really my intention.

In short, I have decided to take a couple of months off Slimming World.  That doesn’t mean that I am going to live on KFC and coke for the next couple of months, but I am struggling to commit to my group sessions.  I like to stay to the group part as I like the social aspect of it (plus, £4.95 for just weighing in?  I can do that at home for free!).  I have an incredibly busy few weeks (maybe months?) at work, and my mileage is cranking up on the half marathon plan, and to be completely honest, I don’t feel like I have enough mental capacity to deal with how I feel after weighing in (it hasn’t been great lately).  Therefore, I have decided to have a breather away from it for a short period of time.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I was meant to go out for a run tonight, but I have bowed to Mother Nature on this one.  The wind is probably the worst I have heard it since we moved into our flat 4 years ago, and knowing my luck, I’d be running into a headwind all the way, and I definitely don’t fancy a sea shower again!  Just to give you an idea, here is a video of the weather yesterday (when the winds weren’t as strong as today!):

Yep… I am not aerodynamic enough to face this kind of weather!

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

15 thoughts on “Giving up Slimming World (for the time being)

  1. I know myself, it’s better to step away for a bit and come back when you’re ready – reinvigorated and ready to get stuck in. A break away is really often the right thing. Goes for the running as well as SW! 😉

  2. Gosh those waves are crazy! You would get swept away if you ran along the seafront!
    I didn’t realise that you had to pay to weigh yourself too- that does seem a bit expensive when you could pay for a gym class with that money- good luck with it

  3. Acknowledging that you need a break is a very positive thing to do! Good luck with the training and don’t get blown away.

  4. Ach! Those waves are bad. I don’t blame you for not getting out there.
    And with regards to Weight Watchers…sometimes something has to give, otherwise you end up more stressed out which makes dieting even harder anyway. A break sounds like a good plan!

    • It has been even worse today, but thankfully the winds have died down a bit now.

      I think you are right about the break. Here is hoping that I get a bit of head space 🙂

  5. This weather is wild isn’t it lets hope it eases soon for all our sakes. Take care

  6. Well done for trying a change. Stepping away and coming at it again sounds like a positive step. And as for the weather! Did you hear about the WW2 explosives uncovered when an Exmouth ice cream hut rolled away down the promenade? Apparently they had to call the bomb disposal teams out.

  7. I have to say after stopping MFP&crazy calorie counting etc I’m pretty much around my lowest weight give or take a pound. So I say good for you, focus on the running, enjoying life & not getting swept away! 🙂

Leave a Reply

