Tub on the Run

Bread, Brownies and Bella

8 Comments

I find that I easily get frustrated on the weekends if I don’t feel like I have achieved anything.  This annoys Matt a bit, as he is of the opinion that sometimes you don’t need to do anything and the best thing to do is relax.  This was a pretty good weekend for relaxing I think.

Yesterday, I nipped over to my mum’s house, as I hadn’t seen or spoken to her much in the last week, which is quite unusual.  We’ve both been really busy, so it was nice to catch up and natter.  The winds were howling and the rain came down so hard that it looked like Mum’s car was actually steaming at one point.  I think Bella had the right idea curling up behind the sofa, next to the radiator.

Bella

I also started the next Game of Thrones book – A Storm of Swords 2: Blood and Gold.  I am nearly up to where Season 3 of the HBO series ends and 4 starts.  I want to get to the end of this book so that I am ahead of the TV series.  It isn’t one of those books that I find easy to read, but I am thoroughly enjoying it.

Game of Thrones

Matt and I also started watching the Winter Olympics.  It’s probably the first time in my 28 years in this world that I have actually sat and watched any of the snow sports.  It hasn’t really been anything I have been interested in before – being Devonian born and bred, it isn’t like we get much in the way of snow here, and my experience of ice skating has been limited to being chaperoned at an incredibly slow speed by my more competent friends in either Plymouth or at Don Valley in Sheffield.  In fact, if you want a quick way to find out the southerners from the northerners, put them all in an ice rink – those born north of the Midlands will be able to lace up their boots and belt around at a good lick.  The southern softies, like my good self, will be easily spotted by their inability to leave the side, or by the fact they’ll have fallen over as soon as they stepped on to the ice…  Anyway, all things considered, while I don’t understand half of what is going on, I am quite enjoying what I have seen so far.

Today has been all about washing and baking.  I never seem to be able to keep up with the washing, but as I am out and about a lot over the coming week, I thought it best to try and get as much laundry done as I possibly can.  More importantly, I decided it would be great to bake.  I haven’t baked in an extremely long time, and my memory fails me as to what it was I baked last.  I go through spells of baking, but the problem is that I make quite a lot of mess, and the clean up operation takes the joy out of it.  Especially as one of the first times I baked in our kitchen, I managed to get icing sugar EVERYWHERE.  Everything was sticky for months.

Earlier in the week, while I was catching up on some of my favourite blogs, I saw that Maria over at Running Cupcake posted two recipes – sweet potato chilli and peanut butter brownies.  I need to do the chilli at some point (maybe next week, when I am home a bit more), as that really does look delicious.  It is a Jamie Oliver recipe, and there isn’t a recipe of his that I haven’t liked yet.  I loved the idea of the brownies – peanut butter and chocolate?  What’s not to love?!  I adapted the recipe ever so slightly and used honey instead of golden syrup just because I don’t have any syrup in the house.  I also didn’t do the white chocolate peanut butter icing, as I personally do not like white chocolate.  The taste test results are in, and they’re winners!

Brownie

I’ve made quite a lot, so I have boxed them up to take to work tomorrow to share out.  I am not usually a fan of my own baking, but these really are quite good – the peanut butter makes them!  They also get brownie points (har har) for being low mess.  My kitchen isn’t a sugary fog of baking aftermath!  I now have bread going in the bread maker – get me!

I will now take my smugness back out to the kitchen and pop the kettle on!

Happy Sunday!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

8 thoughts on “Bread, Brownies and Bella

  1. Those brownies look awesome! Sometimes a chilled weekend is just what’s called for 🙂

  2. Glad you liked them 🙂 Brownies are my favourite to make as they only need one pan, and one tray to bake, not loads of bowls and things like normal baking. Plus the actual making doesn’t take too long, and people are always impressed with them 🙂

  3. Mmm love brownies, love peanut butter so gonna love these. BTW messy cooks are the best, out kitchen always looks like a tornado has passed through it when I make anything!

  4. As I said on Instagram, these look YUM! 🙂
    My cat is a Bella too, and she’s taken to crawling into our bed this week! Definitely the best place to be with all that wind and rain.

Leave a Reply

