Tub on the Run

New Start Eve

4 Comments

I’ve been running around a lot this week and have covered over 1,000 miles, driven in some truly scary conditions and received a couple more awards!  It’s quite a long catch up post, and I am hoping to have the world back to rights next week.

Monday last week saw me gearing up for a pretty full on week ahead. Thankfully, it was smooth running and I have passed over another part of my old role to the person who replaced me which is great!  Tuesday was a very late night.  I was picked up in the midst of a sleet flurry from Exeter and drove to Chippenham with a marshalling friend.  I am part of a marshalling club (well, I’m actually a member of two), and there are regional committees, and I was elected in to the South West region.  I also picked up two more awards (technically, they’re the same award, but one I get to keep, and one is in my custody for the next year).

Awards

I really can’t wait until the season starts again.  Matt and I didn’t do much last year because our holiday was chewed up with weddings and the like, and we’ve both learnt that we need a Monday off if we are marshalling endurance races over the weekend.  What I really like about marshalling is the escapism it provides.  I make no secret of the fact that I find my work stressful and will spend a lot of time thinking about it even when I am not there, which can burn me out.  Marshalling motorsport means that I can’t think of anything else other than what is on track – it is too safety critical.  Yes, of course, there is a love of cars and racing there too, and the camaraderie makes or breaks the weekend (thankfully more often makes than breaks!).

Wednesday was a trip up north to our offices in Huddersfield.  I have never driven in conditions like it, and I was extremely grateful to be driving a hired Insignia – it was like a tank and stayed planted the whole way up.  It meant an overnight stay and a much more peaceful journey back on the Thursday night.

Friday was a normal day at work, catching up on our day and a half out of the office.  It was blowing a proper gale when Matt and I got home, and after listening to it howling around our flat, we decided that a 9:30pm walk to the beach was in order.  Never before have I been able to lean backwards into the wind and for it to keep me upright.  I was glad the tide was on its way out when we were down there though, otherwise we would have been incredibly soggy.

Friday night walk

Yesterday we headed in to Exeter for a bit of a mooch, and to get the stuff together for my Foodie Penpal this month and also buy a new face cream as mine ran out.  I had been using Dermologica, but it stopped working as well over winter.  I now have Lush’s Imperialis which feels great so far, and I’ve been feeding the super dry patches on my cheek with Ultrabalm.  Much much better!  We also picked up father-in-law’s birthday present, despite his birthday being a month away.  I am quite pleased with myself.

Today, I caught up on some reading – 160 blog posts to read through!  It prompted my thoughts to turn back towards running.  I have had two weeks completely off of running.  I’m in two minds as to whether I miss it or not.  I miss the fresh air.  I miss getting out and feeling like I have done something good, but I have also enjoyed the time indoors (not least because we’ve been battered by storms for what feels like months!).

Back to Couch to 5k.  I toyed with the idea of going in a little bit further along in the weeks, but I realised that I have nothing to lose by going right back to Week 1.  Three runs a week, all less than 30 minutes should be enough for me to deal with.  I have also thought to add in some weights.  I don’t have the capacity, financially or spatially, to have my own home gym, but I figured a couple of kettlebells and youtube, and I’m away!  I won’t be adding that in quite yet though.

Run days will be Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays I think.  Routes might be a bit more tricky to work out as I remember from last time that running the same route is dull.  However, the nights will be getting much lighter by the end of Couch to 5k, and I’ll be able to vary it with some trail runs.  Bring on the lighter evenings!  Week one, day one tomorrow – wish me luck!

With food, I don’t have a real plan, and I have no idea what I currently weigh.  I also have no intention of stepping on to the scales until at least the end of the month.  I haven’t really missed Slimming World so far, in fact, not going has allowed me a bit more time on a Tuesday evening.  What I am lacking though is structure.  That’ll be the next phase – structuring food.

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “New Start Eve

  1. great blog, iv really enjoyed your posts. I would love to have you follow my running journey run100run.wordpress.com

  2. It is a good idea to start at the beginning of the couch to 5k again- as you go along you might find you can go up through the weeks a bit quicker too.
    The weather has been crazy- I have never heard wind that bad before.

Leave a Reply

