Tub on the Run

Foodie Penpals – February 2014

4 Comments

Another month flown by, and I had a bit of a wake up call with Foodie Penpals this month.

I haven’t been completely engaged with the whole concept lately, so first off, my apologies go out to Helen over at Foodie Penpals.  I was due to send to her, and I did send a parcel over, but much later than I should have done.  I haven’t heard whether it has arrived yet, but I am hoping it reached her safe and sound.  It’s been a completely crazy month, and so busy, hence the lack of blogging, but even so, I should have got my act together a bit sooner!

Sending to me was the amazing Siv, who has the most gorgeous blog over at A World in My Oven.  I cannot tell you how jealous I am of her photography and cooking skills!  She was very kind and shared some of her top tips with me, which I cannot wait to put in to practice with my new toy!  I’ve finally got a grown up camera, but unfortunately it needs charging, so the photos here are on my old compact.

Anyway… without further ado – what did Siv send me?  The most amazing and thoughtful parcel!  I am genuinely open to trying most new things for food, and I love getting parcels from outside the UK – the range of foods makes life that bit more interesting!  Unfortunately, I didn’t give Siv much to work with, so she took her inspiration from the colours or a rainbow.  Such a cool idea!

DSCI0019She wrote the funniest cards, and a great recipe for breakfast bars that I am looking forward to trying to make over the weekend.  With the Lindt chocolate, I have to admit that I was a bit weary of it, as white chocolate is definitely not up there in my favourites, but as I type, I am trying very hard to make sure no bits get between the keys.  It is amazing!  The almonds help to make it less sweet and give it a great crunchy texture.  I’m wondering where I will be able to find it in the UK!  The salts look interesting, and I am going to find a recipe to try incorporating them.  I am hoping that I will be able to start eating cheese and milk again soon, otherwise the crackers are only going to be paired with peanut butter, and while I love peanut butter, I think cheese is better for crackers.

DSCI0007As my Dutch is quite poor, Siv had very kindly translated the recipe for the no-bake-cheesecake.  I feel that is going to be a weekend attempt, once I’ve found the Quark at Tesco (pretty sure it is in the cheese aisle, unless they’ve moved it again).  The rooibos tea is very welcome, as I don’t need milk with it – perfect for me at the moment.  The bottle is a Japanese melon drink.  It is really quite a strange bottle – there’s a marble in the neck!  I have never had a melon drink before, and it is quite pleasant.

So Siv, with all her thoughtfulness has breathed a bit of life back in to my Foodie Penpal experience, and I hope to be able to transfer this to my March match.  Go check out her Foodie Penpals post too – she has this whole thing nailed!

Thank you Siv!

Not sure what I am rambling on about, or why lovely Dutch people are sending me food parcels and I’m sending one up country, check out the Foodie Penpals pages over at This is Rock Salt.

(P.S. – The Lindt didn’t make it to the end of the post…  Oops…)

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

4 thoughts on “Foodie Penpals – February 2014

  1. White chocolate is not my favourite either- I like it in baked things like cookies, especially with something else (raspberries/ cranberries/ peanut butter) but I would never choose it over other chocolate.

  2. Hehe, it seems there are very few people in the baking world that like white chocolate more than milk or dark 😛 But honestly, where’s the post on you testing your new camera? We need to see this!! I’m sure you’re really talented! 😉

    • Now I am partial to dark chocolate, mainly because I cannot eat vast quantities of it! 🙂 But I was pleasantly surprised by the Lindt. New post for the camera is up – nothing too exciting, as I only had the chance to play with it on Saturday, but I enjoyed myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

