Tub on the Run

Honey, I’m home!

6 Comments

Honey, I’m home!  Fleetingly, at least!

Tubdom has been a melting pot of busy and crazy lately, mostly about work.  Clearly not the most exciting things to be busy with, but it pays the bills and keeps me out of mischief for a short while at least.  Unfortunately being so busy has meant that I have neglected my blog.  I’ve been putting in a lot of hours, and clocked up too many hours on the computer, so I haven’t wanted to look at the computer for my personal ventures.

Sunday came and went.  I hear that Silverstone was blustery (when is it not?) and the weather wasn’t super for it.  I am sporting a cold at the moment and I’m getting winded just walking up the stairs, so I suspect I made the right choice by ducking out of 13.1 miles.  Next year though, Silverstone you are mine!  I would, of course, like to say congratulation to those who I’ve met through the @UKRunChat hours on Sundays between 8pm and 9pm.

In other news, last Friday I bought my first “grown up” camera.  It’s a Samsung NX1100 and I love it!  I took it out for a spin on the weekend, and took a few pictures.

SAMSUNG CSC

Exeter Cathedral

Matt - Exeter

I’m just using the Smart Auto mode at the moment while I get used to it.  It has a huge amount of functionality that I don’t have on my old compact camera, and I’ve bought a book to help me learn.  Siv at a World in My Oven was also kind enough to share some of her top tips with me too, and Pinterest is proving useful.  I’m just waiting for the weekend again now, so I can practise a bit more.

Tank

Why upgrade the camera?  I promised myself 3 things if I could keep blogging for a year.  The first was to upgrade my camera.  Many of the blogs I follow have amazing pictures, and it is something I quite enjoy learning.  The second and third were to go to a blogging conference and look at buying the domain name for Tub.  I booked to go to Cybher, having read great things about it, but unfortunately it was cancelled.  I am really disappointed, but these things happen.  The domain name, I have just been a bit lazy with really, but I’ll get around to it some time.

Anyway, I am alive and relatively well (notwithstanding this stupid cold).  On that note, I should go and pack for my “adventure” up t’north for work tomorrow.

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Honey, I’m home!

  1. They are lovely photos- what gorgeous weather 🙂

  2. Those are all great blogging aims – I wish I could 1) get a new camera 2) self host 3) just be a bit more consistent(!) but unfortunately my life isn’t very consistent at the moment so think I need to wait for things to settle down. Photos look fab though! (I know what you mean, I’m a sucker for good photography)

    • Same here Lucy! I am just waiting for work to simmer down to a manageable level again so I can reclaim some of my life and get back into a proper blogging routine. I see self hosting as being something I may push back to next year, depending on how it all goes.

Leave a Reply

