Tub on the Run

Spring has sprung!

12 Comments

I don’t want to speak too soon, but it really does feel (and look) like spring has sprung!  We have been blessed with a couple of truly gorgeous weeks, and while it isn’t quite t-shirt weather, I am living in hope of a decent summer.

Today after lunch, Matt and I went for an amble down the beach.  It has been a beautiful day, and there were plenty of people on the beach who had a similar idea to us.

Exmouth Beach

To mark the occasion, we stopped for an ice cream and soaked up some much needed vitamin D while we ate.  It was great to get out of the house, blow away some cobwebs and appreciate where we live.  It’s very easy to forget to appreciate what is around you, and we are truly lucky to be a 5 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute drive away from the countryside.

Sping has sprung in Exmouth

Over the last week or so, the blossom has really started to come out.  Long may it continue too!  When we got home, some more chores followed, and we’re both currently parked on the sofa watching the closing ceremony of the winter paralympics.

What else has been going on this week?  Well, there wasn’t a return to running, but there was some more mindful eating, and an attempt at one of the (many) recipes on my Pinterest boards.  A while back, my sister posted a recipe to my facebook page.  It looked interesting, but I hadn’t got round to trying it.  As some of my bananas became too ripe, I thought I’d give the recipe a go.

Oaty Banana Bites

They aren’t much to look at, admittedly, but they were tasty in a kind of cakey way (I was expecting more of a flapjack kind of texture).  I may not have followed the recipe to the letter, as I don’t have any apple sauce or raisins in the house at the moment.  Regardless, they were good and I will be making them again.

Recipe

  • 3 mashed, ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup of apple sauce
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Basically, you mix all of the ingredients together, plop into a tray and spread out the mixture.  Pop it in the oven for 15-20 minutes on 180c (350f or gas mark 4), and then leave on a wire rack to cool.

I feel like I have had a bit of a better work/life balance this week.  Despite having an incredibly heavy workload at the moment, I didn’t bring work home and I relaxed a bit easier in the evenings.  I am definitely counting that as progress!  I’ve even managed to get myself organised with some of my marshalling bits and bobs.  I have taken on social media responsibility for my marshalling club’s region, and as the motorsport season is now upon us, it was time for me to invest a bit more time and thought into it.  I’ve had a good response and reception so far, and I am hoping that the use of a couple of different tools will help me out with that.

All in all, it’s been a good week and I am looking forward to seeing what next week brings.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

12 thoughts on “Spring has sprung!

  1. I’ve recently taken over social media for a race company based near me and I feel so much more in the loop with what’s going on in the local running world! I find Tweetdeck is great for scheduling posts and still viewing your personal social media accounts as well as the Club/race accounts.

    • Ooh motorsport racing? I have had Hootsuite recommended and it seems quite handy so far. I will check out Tweetdeck though – thanks for the heads up!

      Is there anything similar for Facebook profiles? I need to create one (rather than a page) and that would also be handy. I am not as good on fb as I am on twitter if my blog accounts are anything to go by.

      • Haha! Nope, my motorsport racing knowledge is rubbish, so I wouldn’t be great for their social media! It’s for a run racing company that put on several races (mainly ultras) around the UK.
        I started off with Hootsuite which was great, although I couldn’t use multiple accounts from the platform. Not sure if you can do that now?… I’m more of a Twitter person than FB too I’m afraid!

        • Cool! At the moment, as none of my accounts are super busy, it isn’t too hard to switch between accounts on my phone. Ineed to read up on fb engagement for the marshalling thing soon.

  2. Just got to love Exmouth

  3. I thought so too and then – boom – it’s snowing! That’s OK…it will make spring just that much sweeter!

  4. I am so envious of where you live..
    After years of living in the countryside I’m in town center and really don’t like it at all, I loved getting out along country paths and nature this weekend.
    Those bar’s look yummy but I hate banana’s which saddens me as often the best looking recipes contain them. Just a hint on the apple sauce – If your out just microwave and blend a apple for instant/cheaper apple sauce sub.
    As previously mentioned – Tweetdeck is meant to be very good and I previously used ‘Hoot Suite’ until I forgot what I’d actually scheduled (how embarrassing?) x

    • I lived in Sheffield for a bit which was probably the closest I got to city living. It was perfect for me at the time (ah student life!). But when Matt and I occasionally talk about moving, we have agreed no city living. That said, I do get envious of the bloggers I follow who live in London and have so much on their doorstep.

  5. I use hootsuite as well for social media – it’s really easy to use, and twitonomy for stats (both free). Well done on improving your work / life balance, and yay to the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

