Tub on the Run

Stop the press!

15 Comments

After months and months of procrastinating, not running, but plenty of belly button gazing, I actually went out for a run yesterday.

Oh.  Em.  Gee.

It was painful.  The bunnies that were out for their evening meal made me smile though, and provided momentary distraction.  I am starting right back from scratch at Week 1 of Couch to 5k.  I did get a bit wrapped up in myself and ended up going further than I meant to by the half way point.  It was quite nice though – the fresh air did me the world of good.

What surprised me was that my ankles and feet are sore.  I wasn’t expecting that.  I know it shouldn’t be surprising really, as I haven’t done any significant load bearing activity for a long time and my ankles and feet have lost their running memory temporarily.  I don’t remember feeling like this on my first round last year.  I’m not sure what weight I was back then – I’ll have to go and find out.

My next outing will be on Friday.  I hope the distraction bunnies are out again.

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

15 thoughts on “Stop the press!

  1. Bunnies always help!

  2. Distraction bunnies are the best 🙂
    I am sure the first few will be not so easy but soon enough your legs (ankles) will remember what to do.

  3. Good for getting out there 🙂

  4. Well done for getting out there, cute to see the bunnies too! Hope today goes well and miss/missed the rain!

  5. I can feel the lack of running when I take even a week off!! It’s crazy!

  6. Yay! Painful but fun is the best combination…the pain helps you to feel proud of yourself after you have finished. Or that’s what I always find anyway! 🙂 There seem to be loads of bunnies out and about on the verges at the moment. They always make me jump when I see their tails bobbing away – clearly I’m not a very observant runner!

    • You are right 🙂 I did feel proud. Then sore! Ah well! I try to look out for furry things on my travels – it helps to distract me, and goodness knows I need it at the moment!

  7. Good for you Steph! My sister is doing a variation of couch to 5km and getting on really well..I think for you as you already have a running background you’ll be back to running in no time! Don’t worry about your weight or anything like that..just ease back in and enjoy yourself 🙂
    Oooh and I love seeing bunnies..I am so easily distracted..Cat’s are a real problem for me, often worry I’ll trip up trying to admire them..I am aware that makes me sound slightly insane!

  8. Good on you for getting back out there. It’s surprising how quickly stamina goes down when we haven’t done an activity for a while.

    You’ll be back to where you were in no time! Just take it nice and easy, don’t push yourself too hard and enjoy it! 🙂

    I’ve also nominated you for a Liebster Award. If you’re interested, you can check out the link to my blog post for instructions on what you need to do! 🙂
    http://laurafat2fit.blogspot.com/2014/04/the-liebster-award.html

    • Tell me about it! I wasn’t expecting to be as fit as I was, but I was a bit taken aback to find how much my fitness had slid in that time. Never mind – back to it now, and I just need to remember how this feels to motivate me going forward.

      Thank you for the Liebster! I will have a look at it and make my post soon 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better and the swelling is going down – you’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

