Tub on the Run

Foodie Penpals: April 2014

5 Comments

This month saw me paired with Louise at the Lone Gourmet and Michelle.  Michelle doesn’t blog, but she does do a mean Foodie Penpals parcel!

I was a little late in sending my parcel to Louise – I hadn’t realised quite how busy a month April had turned in to.  Thankfully, I don’t think I was the only one having spoken to both Louise and Michelle!  Here’s hoping for a calmer May!

As always, I spend days asking Matt (who always gets up the stairs before me) if there is any post.  Honestly, it’s like waiting for Christmas!  I always look forward to breaking in to the box and discovering what I’ve been sent.  I said to Michelle that I would prefer a “leaning towards healthy” parcel, and I was sent a parcel that delivers exactly that!

SAMSUNG CSC

From left to right, Michelle sent me a Taste #5 Unami paste, The Food Doctor’s roasted bean mix, a smoked garlic, M&S oak smoked sea salt, a very exotic sounding Moon Valley Za’atar and some amazing home baked Easter biscuits which Michelle’s children helped to make.

The biscuits were perfect with a cup of tea while I searched for recipes for the other things.  The Unami paste looks like it makes a good addition to anything Italian or Spanish, or with burgers – perfect as we head in to BBQ season.  The za’atar is a Palestinian herb blend which, by the looks of things, you can add to pretty much anything.  I plan to try both of these out of the next few weeks – wish me luck!  The smoky salt and garlic smell amazing.  I’ve found a couple of recipes that I like the sound of – smoked garlic mash and butternut squash and roast garlic risotto.

So, thank you Michelle for the parcel.  It’s definitely making me think about doing different things rather than relying on the same old recipes.

Want to get involved?  Check out This is Rock Salt (UK) or the Lean Green Bean (USA).

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

5 thoughts on “Foodie Penpals: April 2014

  1. Ahhh I was given some za’atar before and It was wonderful in soups or over chicken.. 🙂 I love the foodie penpal concept but I fear because I can be such a disorganized moo I’d forget or something terrible..may dip in sometime though 🙂

    • I will have to try it out in soups and on chicken. I have to admit I had never heard of it until now.

      You should give it a go – you get reminders and are in contact with the person. It is always interesting to see what you get each month 🙂

  2. Oooo, I’ve not spotted any of those goodies before! Have fun cooking. That smoked garlic and butternut squash risotto sounds lovely. 🙂

    • I will let you know how the risotto turns out but I also love the sound of it. We used the smoked salt to make out sweet potato chips tonight – very tasty!

  3. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Roast Garlic Risotto | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

