Tub on the Run

3 runs of Couch to 5k done

6 Comments

I ran my third run of Week 1 of the Couch to 5k programme tonight.  Again, there were no internal arguments about going out.  I knew I felt better for going out for a run after my rubbish day on Tuesday, and today was on par with then to be honest, so I applied the same logic.  It is so nice to be out and clear my mind.  Okay, it isn’t an entirely clear mind – I fill it with “has it been a minute yet?  I’m sure that Laura said it was only a minute I had to do.  I must be nearly there.  Oooh…. bunnies!”.   By the third run segment, I feel like I am settling in to my groove a bit more.  It was another out and back run, complete with photo from the turning point.

Cycle Path

I’ve really enjoyed this route.  I think I may have overkilled the beach somewhat with my previous attempts at Couch to 5k.  It is reassuring doing the same route but it gets very dull very quickly.  I need to work out another route so I don’t suffer the same with this one.  I’m not sure I’ll get bored of seeing the wildlife though.

Sheeps

I thought I’d mix it up for the sheep – I walked past them on the way out, then lumbered past at a run on the way back.  I tried to sneak up on the distraction bunnies to get a good shot, but they’re wily little things and knew I was there (I suppose it’s quite hard to hide a 5ft 8, 18 stone beetroot).  I did get a couple of photos of them, but they aren’t the best quality.

Distraction bunnies

I’ve noticed that the ankle that I twisted the other month in my car park gymnastics is quite sore to run on.  It’s not unbearable and it isn’t causing me to limp, but I am conscious that I don’t want to roll it again.  I remember having to do wobble board exercises at physio when I was younger.  I’m wondering if there is something else I can do.  Yoga does seem to help I think, so I am hoping to roll the mat back out next week.  I was hoping to having done so this week, but it turned into a busier week than I thought it was going to.

I’ve also thought about whether to move to Week 2 on the plan, but I think I am going to do Week 1 again.  It isn’t like I’m in a rush after all.

Not a bad start to May! 🙂

 

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “3 runs of Couch to 5k done

  1. Nice work 🙂 And those bunnies are cute! My favourite animal to see when running.

  2. You have such a great attitude towards this..If week one feels comfy then darn right you should go over it again! 🙂 The area looks stunning..I’m so very envious! Oh and trust me I can’t hide from bunnies either..I’m very heavy footed/loud so goodness know’s what the poor things think when I’m approaching!

    • Thank you Katie 🙂 I am very lucky to live in Devon I have to admit. I lived in a city for a while and loved that but it wasn’t a long term thing for me.

      I am glad I am not the only one who makes the rabbits run! 🙂

  3. Your internal dialogue reminds me a little of mine on long walks. Kind of, “five miles in, that means I’m a third of the way. Why did I say I was going to do this? Look flowers. Is it six miles yet? If I was just doing twelve this would be half way. Why did I say I was going to do this…..”

Leave a Reply

